It’s Official: ITALY

It’s official folks – I’m moving to Italy! YES, Italy!!! For all those of you who just passed out, wake up so I can tell you the story of how this amazing turn of events came to be.

Three months ago I applied for a temporary communications job supporting the city of Trento as part of a two year stint to promote a special event. When I originally saw the job on a “Women in Communications’ website, I passed it off as a cool position but nothing I would be interested in. Because it was far away. In Italy. And entirely too romantic to be a possibility.

Yet for the next seven days, I kept coming back to that job. I loved Italy when I visited it a couple of years ago. It was beautiful, the people were wonderful, and having a chance to really get immersed in a different culture would be awesome. For Caden and for me.

So I started making a list of all the reasons why I could do it and those that would keep me here in Utah. You know, a standard pros and cons list.

PROS:

  • Italy is a beautiful country
  • Learning Italian – Caden and me
  • Experiencing different culture
  • Building resume even more – international experience
  • The FOOD
  • The PEOPLE
  • Chance to visit other countries quite easily
  • Only temporary assignment – 1.5 to 2 years
  • It’s ITALY!!

CONS:

  • Far away from family
  • Don’t know Italian very well (translation: at all)
  • Not sure how pay would translate
  • Caden would miss out on his slew of sports here

Needless to say, I didn’t think the cons list should keep me from applying.

So I did.

And I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

And exactly four weeks after I had applied, I received an email saying, “We have received your application and are reviewing for pre-screening purposes.” I decided it probably wasn’t going to work out so I stopped thinking about it.

Two weeks went by.

I received another email. “We have passed your application onto our recruiting manager”. Hmmm, some progress. But still too far fetched in my mind.

Another two weeks go by.

I get a phone call at work one morning on my cell phone and since it said “Unknown”, I didn’t answer it. I checked my voicemail later that afternoon and listened to a woman’s heavily accented Italian voice tell me she would like to “discuss-a the-a job you saw-a on our-a site-a concerning the-a communications job-a in-a Trento.”

I about passed OUT. WHAT??? They are actually calling me now???

Okay, I could feel free to think about in all seriousness at this point. 🙂

I won’t bore you with All the details excePt to say that the next Round of Interviews took pLace over a three week period, normally very early in the morning. For a brief moment, I thought I had lOst it. But then came the phOne calL I was deSperately hoping for: “You’re it!

And just like that, my next story was ready to take place.

But I’d like to hear yours. 😛

p.s. Check out these creative geniuses who are also having A LOT of fun today: Kodak, Westjet (my favorite), Whole Foods, and of course Google.

5 comments

  1. Big Mamo · April 1, 2011

    WOW! That is great news . . . and we’re very, very happy for you and Caden, Angie. But we’ll miss seeing you when we come to Utah. I know Caden will be able to find a soccer league and maybe learn a new sport or two. It will be a terrific experience for both of you; challenging, but also a growing experience. Have you checked about the church in that area? (I’m going to right now . . .). Hope to see you when Susan and I fly to SLC the first part of June. Love you, Big Mamo

  2. Amy · April 1, 2011

    BAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Good one! YOU ROCK!!!

  3. angelbrew · April 1, 2011

    Oh, Mamo – I gotcha 🙂

    • Big Mamo · April 1, 2011

      You sure did! I need to pay closer attention to the calendar . . .

  4. Emmy · April 2, 2011

    Dang you! I just got SO excited!

Leave a Reply

