The Merriest Place on Earth

All right, I’m finally getting around to posting the deets on the Big Road Trip of 2010. It’s only taken me three weeks to get around to it. 🙂

Our adventure started right after Caden and I attended Emmy & Josh’s lovely wedding on the 20th. We took off from the Salt Lake Pickle Company in downtown SLC and drove in the middle of a crazy snowstorm to Beaver, UT. The plan was to get to Cedar City but I was exhausted, the storm was terrible, and I needed a bed to lay my poor weary head on. So we crashed at a Best Western in Beaver (highly recommended…seriously, quite a clean place and you got a great breakfast for $3!).

The next morning, we drove from Beaver straight to the Happiest Place on Earth to spend the next two days frolicking amidst the throngs of folks needing their holiday Disney fix, too.

I may have mentioned this before but my absolute favorite time to visit Disneyland is during the holiday season. The way they decorate every available space–ornaments, garland, lights, candy canes, carolers, presents–just puts me in the perfect holiday mood. I love, love, LOVE the atmosphere at Christmas.

Main Street, Disneyland

I love going to Adventureland as they have Santa’s Ranch with real reindeer and a place for kids to decorate cookies, meet with Santa, and eat a bit o’ cowboy grub.

Nothing beats the lighting on all the cheery buildings, too.

If I had to pick my favorite moment of the entire Road Trip 2010, it would have to be what happened at California Adventure the first night we were there. It was chilly, as it tends to be on the coast of California in the evening, and Caden was dying to ride the Grizzly River Rapids ride. It was about 8 o’clock and nobody, absolutely NOBODY, was in line for ride because who wants to get cold and wet when it’s 50 degrees outside. Except for crazy us.

I hit up the gift shop right next to the ride and picked up a couple of ponchos for $5/each and we fearlessly trekked on through the turnstile to board the ride. We looked absolutely ridiculous which set us off laughing. I have a picture of Caden that is my favorite picture of the entire adventure…that is on a different camera (yes, I travel with more than one camera…I can’t help it! I have too many cameras that have too many unique functions). Expect a posting on that sometime soon.

As we headed up the ride towards the top, we started laughing and screaming because it was pitch black and neither of us had ridden the ride before so we had no idea what we were in for. As we get ready to get off the long ascent, we expected a huge drop of some sort. But no, it just starts to put you into a crazy bumpy, water splashing ride and we giggled, laughed, and screamed like two little kids (well, one of us was legitimately a little kid) for the entire ride. I’ve never laughed so hard in my laugh and all I kept thinking in my head was, ‘This is something I hope Caden never forgets…because I sure won’t!’

The funny thing about the trip this time was we spent more time at California Adventure than we did in Disneyland. They just had a few more things we really wanted to do like my favorite ride (Soarin’ Over California),Caden’s favorite ride (Grizzly River Rapids), a new ride we had never done (Tower of Terror…whoa, so fun but do NOT eat before going on that ride), a cool sneak peek of Tron (which we just saw in IMAX 3D – loved it!), and World of Color. That is an amazing light/water show that is better than I thought it would be. We bought a little lunch that came with good spectator passes for the show and it was worth it. If you are going to Disneyland sometime soon, check this show out. It was impressive, to say the least.

After two days at the Merriest Place on Earth (going along with the holiday theme), we were ready to start our way on up the coast…

One comment

  1. Amy · December 20, 2010

    Way too fun! I’m totally coveting your trip!

Leave a Reply

