The Great Road Trip of 2010

A few months ago, I had an idea pop into my head: Wouldn’t it be great to take Caden on a ginormous road trip through California and up the Oregon Coast? That may sound funny to some as I complain about having to drive an hour each way to work 5 days a week. But strange as it seems, I really enjoy driving—as long as the scenery changes consistently and I don’t have to see the State Prison twice a day, every day as part of it.

So I started planning.

Where would we start? Would we go as far south as San Diego? Start in Anaheim? Should we fly down and drive back? How long would it take to get from place to place? Would I go crazy from driving almost 45 hours in my car?

Needless to say, I planned a route…and re-planned a route…and re-planned a route until I had come up with every conceivable scenario of what I would want to do and what I thought Caden would enjoy seeing. Our final itinerary ended up being:

  • SLC to Anaheim
  • Anaheim to San Simeon
  • San Simeon to Big Sur/Carmel-by-the-Sea
  • Carmel to San Francisco
  • San Francisco to Eureka
  • Eureka to Salem, OR
  • Salem to Lincoln City
  • Lincoln City to Home (Bountiful, UT)

How many miles is that big circle up above? Try 2,717. Yep. You read that right. It’s A LOT of mileage!

I’ll be detailing some of our fun exploits as we traverse snowy roads, drink hot chocolate in Disneyland, get to wear a Super Bowl ring in San Francisco, gaze upon a gold plated swimming pool in San Simeon, get to have oodles of fun with little nieces on the beach, and run into one cool cowboy.

I just need to get my pictures off of my camera, first. 🙂

3 comments

  1. Amy · December 6, 2010

    Coolest. Trip. EVER!!! Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  2. Judy Wright · December 6, 2010

    Didn’t realize you two had driven all that way! But what a great loop to take. We love driving up the coast—of California and Oregon too. Can’t wait to see the pics.

  3. Stefan · December 10, 2010

    Hi. I wanted to send a greeting to You all from Sweden ! 🙂 I love Your pics ! 🙂 Merry Xmas n a Happy New Year ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

