And I will walk (run) 500 miles…

544 miles to be exact. Hopefully.

Today I sat down and wrote out a training plan for doing the Portland Marathon in October. I calculated that I would run about 544 miles to train and complete the marathon if I start counting today.

I had to force myself to do this because I have to admit: I have lost my running mojo.

At the beginning of May, I did the Race for the Cure 5K and had my best time in over 10 years in that race. Three weeks later I did the Homestead 5K and it was one of the most painful races (on many fronts) I have had in quite some time.

Why the huge swing? One word: WORK.

I started my new job a week after the Race for the Cure and let’s just say that it has been an adjustment. I really enjoy the people I get to work with (most of them) but I feel like I was over promised what I would be doing when I went through the interview process…and now they are under delivering. Where I thought I was taking a few steps forward, I actually feel like I’ve moved backwards. It’s a struggle. And it has severely impacted many things, including my running mojo.

I knew something had switched in my head when I was asked by a couple of people to join their Ragnar Relay team for the Wasatch Back. I LOVE events like this; I never say no. But there was not a single bone or ounce of muscle in my body that was even remotely attracted to that idea. I just had no desire to want to run at crazy times of the day with a bunch of folks in a van. Don’t even bring up the Grand Slam I had signed up to do. Forget it. Not interested.

That’s when I knew I needed to change something up. Even though my life has felt like this as of late:

I’ve got to shake this gray cloud. I’ve got to get back to what I know I love to do which is run and clear my head. Even though I’m not 100% committed to doing it, I can build it back up. Positive self-affirmations. Every day.

It’s like that famous Jack Handy quote:

“I hope some animal never bores a hole in my head and lays its eggs in my brain, because later you might think you’re having a good idea but it’s just eggs hatching.”

Here’s to hoping it’s not eggs hatching in my head. (but what if it was…whoa)

One comment

  1. Rivertrekker · June 22, 2010

    Wow! that’s a lot of training! lol I love the Jack Handy quote,so funny!

Leave a Reply

