False advertising

I think the perception that Oregon has crappy rainy weather all the time is just a farce. Oregon has been seriously messing with me this week. Beautiful weather (the sun! the sun is shining and the sky is so blue!), fantastic people at work, and great times with Katie and Sammy (David is in East L.A. for work – boo). We ate at one of my favorite Portland restaurants last night, Papa Haydn’s. Katie had a melt-in-your-mouth duck breast and I had quite the delectable New York Steak with Asparagus and fingerling potatoes. And dessert that knocked our socks off. But all of this fun and good times–well, it’s all doing it’s best to try and persuade me again that I need to move. 🙂

To top it all off, the manager over the Events Team here at Intel had a meeting with me and boy, he shared with me some ideas and thoughts on what kind of events (US and Global) that he thinks I could contribute to. OH. MY. GOSH. I was so excited in talking with him that I’m sure my hands were moving a mile a minute (can’t talk without my hands…it’s a disease).

Sheesh…what to do, what to do. The whole week up here has been marketed as “We love you so much, Angela, please move up here! PLEASE!!!!” Yes, my Intel peeps all call me Angela, which is weird for those that have only known me as Angie since…like, forever. That’s okay, I’m used to it. That way I know if someone is calling from work–“Is Angela there?”–or is somebody I know very well–“Yo, Angie?”

Anyhow, I would be lying if I said Oregon wasn’t back on the table again. It very much is. Especially with that potential to move into the Events team. These folks do the coolest projects! BUT I still have time to re-think all of this again. I’m extended through May to work from home – so who knows what may happen by then?

Speaking of more false advertising, I happened to be looking on KSL for something and saw this little ad in the sidebar:

Riiiiiiight…so, do you think this GUY is that excited about getting married? There’s this cute, perky looking girl who looks like she got engaged to Eminem’s long, lost brother, Mr. HappyFace. I don’t think I would click on this link to plan anything; one of these two is not like the other…and perhaps it had something to do with the service they received. Bad choice for marketing. Maybe try picking a couple where one half doesn’t look suicidal while the other looks like she must be addicted to Xanax to remain as cheerful as she looks. Just saying…

2 comments

  1. april · January 22, 2010

    WOW!!! I’d miss you so much! But as I read your post, I think I was shaking with excitment for you! I’m just sayin’…

  2. angelbrew · January 24, 2010

    Well, it’s not a for sure thing. But it was really awesome to have somebody talk to me about what I would consider is a close “dream job” potential opening! It’s just there are a lot of other things to consider, too…

Leave a Reply

