Attack of the Snuggie

What is the world coming to when the number one gift being advertised and pushed in your face all the time is a giant fleece onesie in which it could be stated “one size fits all”? Oh my gosh, I don’t know who owns the rights to the Snuggie but I have seen it EVERYWHERE. From Smiths Marketplace to Walgreens to Bed Bath & Beyond to Macys. The Snuggie has infiltrated our lives and decided that we all want white trash Christmas gifts this year.

I’m starting to wonder if it’s part of the new health care reform plan–don’t worry about colds, get a Snuggie! Forget that medication you think you need, get a Snuggie instead! Snuggie, Snuggie, Snuggie. It’s just as pervasive in its marketing…I still remain unconvinced.

I think they should come out with a catchy jingle, something akin to “I’d like to buy the world a Snuggie, to keep it smothered in heat…I’d like to see my fam-il-y, swallowed in a fleecy fleet”.

My sisters and I were laughing so hard that these fleece muumuu’s were everywhere you looked that we thought we should do our family Christmas picture this year all bedecked in multicolored Snuggies. But we wouldn’t want to admit to actually owning one. 🙂

I’m all for staying warm…I just don’t understand the appeal of making people look like this:

Whew! Now THAT is sexy. Who doesn’t love a spectacled man with a sly come-hither stare draped in rolls and folds of fleece? Be still my beating heart.

And then there’s this little lovely:

Ummmmmmmmm…yeah. The Baby Snuggie. There…are just…no…words. I didn’t know the “alien popping out of my stomach” look was something a somewhat sane person would want to sport—in broad daylight.

Ahhh, the Snuggie appeal. I’m pretty sure most people buy these things on a dare.

4 comments

  1. Michelle · December 15, 2009

    Bryce received a Dallas Cowboys Snuggie from a coworker in their gift exchange and he ADORES it. I haven’t quit making fun of him yet! In fact, I included it in our annualy Christmas(brag) letter. Wait until you see it!

  2. angelbrew · December 15, 2009

    A Dallas Cowboys Snuggie – wow. I’m so glad you are ribbing him over such a FINE gift as that. I am excited to see your Christmas letter!

  3. Amy · December 15, 2009

    Don’t knock it until you try it. I love my snuggie!

  4. Natalie · December 16, 2009

    “Don’t you have a Slank-et you need to go put your parts under?”
    –Salma Hayek, 30 Rock

Leave a Reply

