My guy turns 9

Nine years old. It’s the last year of his “singles”. Next year he will be in double digits and I will be in double trouble. Because that means that I am getting older which I totally and absolutely refuse to do. I don’t know how he keeps aging year after year because I sure ain’t. At least that’s what my magic mirror on the wall tells me.

Nine years ago today I still had a big round belly in the morning. But by 11:07 p.m. that night, it was gone and replaced with a beautiful baby boy that stole my heart and never gave it back. What is it about that moment when you first see your child and it takes your breath away because you’ve never felt love that intense or more pure before? You blink and suddenly it’s nine years later and that baby has hairy legs, permanent teeth, shredded fingernails (stop biting your nails!) and looks in the mirror every day and waits for armpit hair (no joke).

What in the world…

Nothing makes me happier or brings me more joy than this kid:

Love his face

BUDDY

3 comments

  1. Amy Goeser · August 21, 2009

    Tell Caden the we said happy birthday! Nine is the best age!

  2. dotrivensteiner · July 18, 2011

    what 9 year old already has hairy legs?

  3. Nick · March 17, 2012

    Hairy legs at nine?! Wow Im almost 13 and I dont have hairy legs yet :/

Leave a Reply

