Deus Ex Machina

I just figured out what I am here at work. I am the person who tries to untangle the bad vibes that float around in an environment of stale or rather vapid lucidness. I am the person who week in and week out decides that it’s not enough to just wait for the end to come, we need to have some fun along the way. Forget the fact that I have practically no budget and no support, I will make work as much fun as I can and with as little thanks or support that I need. I’m working to provide a solution to a difficult situation – 68 people just waiting for the last “clock to punch” as our site slowly winds down to its closing in January. I am the deus ex machina.

I received my proof today in the form of a blog post by my former manager who sits right across the aisle from me. We’ve embraced social media with arms yanked wide and every time somebody posts something within our group worldwide, we all get a nice email broadcasting their message of thought. Today, the head of my employee communications group posted a blog around “Everyday Thanks” and listed things like clean data, cross-team collaboration, strong players, and so forth. My former manager posted this about me:

“I am grateful to Angela for all of the hard work she puts into keeping the Utah site from committing mass suicide. She is our head cheerleader and finds the most extraordinary and imaginative ways to keep our spirits high and committed to the company.”

I read it, smiled, and then got quite teary-eyed. I’ve felt a little underappreciated with all of the work I’ve put into making my site someplace you still want to come in to for the next several months, even as you watch all of your precious projects go to others who will be remaining with the organization. I am focused on building a sense of community with those of us left here at the site and it’s been a struggle, especially when I battle with a certain senior leader over the activities that I plan.

Snowbirdtrio

So this small bit of recognition really meant a lot to me. More than the author could ever realize.

And on a different note, I’ve been announcing this week to family/friends/co-workers where I have decided to go. True to the promise I made several blogs ago (like anybody is really paying attention to this), below is a descriptive image of my decision:

For weeks I had the Letter of Intent set to sign so I could move to Oregon. But everytime I went to do so, it was a sinking feeling of “this just isn’t right”. Once I decided to stay in Utah, everything came into focus. Clarity and peace prevailed (well, for most things…but let’s not go there). So there you have it. I’m a born and bred Utahn who is remaining root-bound for awhile longer. Anybody got a job they wanna offer me? 🙂

4 comments

  1. april · August 20, 2009

    For my own selfish reasons, i’m glad! Good luck with the job hunt!

  2. Susan Carlson · August 21, 2009

    I am glad to know that you’ll still be around! Good luck with finding a new job!

  3. katie demcak · August 21, 2009

    Well I figured as much….but thanks for squashing my dreams of having a sister live by me! (boo hoo) 🙂 Just kidding. Utah seems like the place you should be, and really if you were to leave too along with the rest of the fam, I really don’t know what mom and dad would do. They will be very happy to have you and Caden still around! (You just have to come visit me often)

  4. Amy Goeser · August 21, 2009

    YAY! I’m so glad you’re staying! Utah wouldn’t be the same without you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

