Motivation? Try Tiffany’s

Audrey eating.“Listen…you know those days when you get the mean reds?” –Holly.
“The mean reds? You mean like the blues?” –Fred (Paul).
“No… the blues are because you’re getting fat or because it’s been raining too long. You’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?” –Holly.
“Sure.” –Fred (Paul).
“When I get it the only thing that does any good is to jump into a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away.” –Holly.

Yeah, I’m looking for some “calm” and I think Tiffany’s would do the trick. Actually, I am hoping to get quite a nice trinket from Tiffany’s some time next October if I can play my cards right. Ever since talking with my cousin, April, about this a couple of weeks ago at a bridal shower, all I can think about is that I want to get a little blue box from one of these men:

Those handsomely attired gentlemen are the eye candy at the end of  the Nike Women’s Marathon held every October in San Francisco. Yes, I realize with it being San Fran that those men will most likely not be turned on by me coming to the finish line all sweaty and out of breath, but hey, they have a blue box to give me. And I want one.

Something about getting a lovely necklace from Tiffany’s as a reward at the end of a 26.2 mile race seems very motivational. Who wouldn’t want to train to get something like that? You can’t exactly wear your medals around everyday showing off your hard work. They’re heavy. And big. And it would just look silly. (Wow, Angie, what’s that huge medal thingy around your neck? ‘Oh this? Just a tawdry little item from a race I did…it’s called a marathon’ – see? silly…and so in-your-face; subtlety works better). Plus, they really don’t go with anything. But a dainty silver necklace? Ooooh, gimme gimme gimme.

My goal for next year’s running is to try and hit two marathons out of state. This year I still have to complete one marathon but thanks to my Greek scooter escapades and stitches, I was sidelined for a short time. Plus, I didn’t get into St. George so that was a bummer. Oh well. Maybe I will do the Rock n’ Roll Marathon in November and stay with my ex-sis-in-law, Chelsea. 🙂  Or maybe I’ll try the Valley of Fire Marathon. Hmmm…nah.

I’m just feeling sluggish and behind in my running goals for the year.

4 comments

  1. Amy Goeser · August 5, 2009

    Well, who’s butt do I gotta kick to get you into the St. George Marathon?! That is sooo lame that you’re not in, you could have came and crashed at my house. Dang it! Next year for sure.

  2. angelbrew · August 5, 2009

    Do you know somebody you can kick in the butt to get me in? I still may have a few tricks up my sleeve when it comes to that race. Who knows? I may still call you and say, “Can I come stay with you while I go run a little race?” 🙂

  3. Pingback: Ready to run? Sign up with me! « The Eyes have it
  4. Pingback: You Had Me at Tiffany’s « {the} Spunky Runner

Leave a Reply

