S-O-L…D

sold

I am miserably slow in posting anything to my blog, but please forgive me because MY HOUSE HAS SOLD AND I HAVE TWO WEEKS TO MOVE OUT! Yep, I can finally feel comfortable posting this – because last time I posted I had sold my house, the sale fell through. 

Needless to say, the selling of my house has made me run through the gamut of emotions. First I was ecstatic when my agent called me with the offer. Then I was relieved because I wouldn’t have to worry constantly ‘is it going to sell?’ Then I was nostalgic, thinking about all the wonderful things I love about my house and what I’ve been able to do there. And now I’m in a bit of a depression…I’m seriously sad about the whole thing and every time I come home, I get teary eyed. Every single time.

Part of the reason is that this sale means a BIG move is on the horizon. I am going up to Oregon a few days after I close to spend time with my sister for a couple of weeks and work out of my company’s office up there. It is also a semi-househunting trip, to check out what I think may work and to make sure it just feels right. Because the flip side of this decision is really “am I going to be given another reason to stay?” Pretty much a blue box decision, if you know what I mean.

Sigh…my house is sold. I will be homeless in roughly 17 days. I am dealing with this  reality day in and day out, all the while saying goodbye to many colleagues at my company as their release dates come up. I don’t need to go into detail how utterly emotional and difficult the past couple  of months have been, and now it’s only intensifying. But life is all about change and I tend to face it head on. My mom once told me that I can never just do one thing, that my changes come in big waves and in 2’s, 3’s, and 4’s. And the big change is house selling, moving out of state (potentially), and starting a new phase of life.

Caden has gone back and forth with his excitement on selling our house. He thinks it’s “totally awesome!” that we get to go visit Katie, Dave, and Sam in a few weeks but he is also realizing that he has to say goodbye to many friends. Caden is an outgoing, gregarious kid who tends to be the leader amongst a group of kids. And it doesn’t matter if they are 3-4 years older than him or not; he’s in charge in his mind and most kids go along with it. This is obviously a by-product of the fact that he’s an only child and is used to getting things done his way. But he is pretty fair and good with his friends for the most part which is evidenced by the little notes I am finding lately in his backpack:

  • “Caden you are so cool. I’m missing you when you move. Rite to me when you live in Oargon.”
  • “I will miss playing sports with you. Your awesome!”
  • “You make girls laugh. Now no girls will laugh at me. Don’t move dude!”
  • “Do you have a big suitcase? Becuz moving far away is long and you will need alot of stuff.”

Awww…now I think I’ll go get all teary eyed again.

3 comments

  1. Susan Carlson · May 13, 2009

    Congrats on selling your house! I might see you more often if you move to Oregon. Seeing as we live in the same state now and we hardly see each other. My in-laws are right by Portland and so when we visit them we’ll have to get together. The guy just needs to get off his duff already and propose! Duh!?!

  2. Michelle · May 13, 2009

    To whomever may read this:
    What the hell is the hold up? Oregon is NOT an option.

  3. Dave · May 14, 2009

    Welcome to Oregon, land of the green and home of the weird! You will love it here. See you in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

