Happy pills

smileyfaces

Sometimes, on a Monday morning, when all I want to do is just go back to bed and laze around the whole entire day because facing a new week seems utterly too big to contemplate, I think it would be great if we could have Monday Happy pills. You know, some government sanctioned program that forces everyone to have a cheery attitude about starting another week. 🙂 [and that was for you, JT]

Personally, I hate pills. I still remember when my OB  doc gave me my prescription for pre-natal vitamins years ago. When I went to open up that bottle, I dang near passed out. “Holy cow! I’m supposed to try to swallow one of these suckers?! That is just not happening. No way no how is that horse pill going down.” I immediately felt guilty because I knew that the vitamins were more for the baby and not for me. I couldn’t be selfish and I would just have to figure out a way to get it down. But then I made the attempt to get one down my gullet. Twenty-five minutes later, I had a waterlogged decaying vitamin pill that was eroding on my bathroom counter. Believe me, I tried. I just patted my expanding stomach and said, “Sorry kid, I guess you are going to be retarded.” And that was how Caden became a special needs child…NO! That was terrible. Erase that little comment from your memory.  (okay, truthfully, I could get a few down here and there…but seriously, what are they thinking in making pills THAT ginormous?! Don’t we have amazing technology now that can zap these suckers down to a more reasonable size? Something akin to a tic tac?)

Back to Mondays, I’m still needing a good way to kick off a busy week ahead. At work I have a huge Cinco de Mayo party I am planning (pina coladas and margaritas galore – virgin, of course), a dentist appointment (groan), Caden’s 2 baseball games and 1 soccer game, work on The Guy’s business website, painting, and just the daily humdrum. Whew! Plus, something else to consider that I will just have to post about later…but let’s just say I will be homeless (for a good reason) by June 1. 

I pulled out my 14,000 Things to Be Happy About book that sits on my bedside table and grabbed a few things that did put a smile on my face this morning. Enjoy. Maybe they will start your Monday off right, too.

  • obtaining that which is elusive
  • killer Scrabble games
  • that happy-go-lucky feeling
  • the Rebel Yell
  • the one you dress up for
  • not underrating your own abilities
  • the Seven Dwarfs: Doc, Bashful, Sleepy, Dopey, Grumpy, Happy, Sneezy
  • bargain prices
  • wanderlust
  • the overwhelming desire to pop someone’s bubblegum bubble
  • going to an outdoor cafe (like in Paris!)
  • those moments that go beyond words
  • want-to, have-to, ought-to feelings
  • generalissimos
  • the need for imagination
One comment

  1. Natalie · May 5, 2009

    1-Cinco de Mayo party? Is my invitation in the mail?
    2-That’s nice of you to work on “The Guy”‘s website–since that’s the only way he’ll be able to keep in touch with you in Oregon–go Ducks!
    3-I should have put this on the previous post, but I love your paintings!

Leave a Reply

