X-Men stylist wanted

Caden comes up to me this morning and asks, “Mom, can you make my hair look like Wolverine today for school? That would be awesome.” Ummmmm, ‘kay. I’m not sure how that look goes. And what in the world? Where did wanting to look like Wolverine come from?? I explained to him that it probably wouldn’t work well anyway  because he’s still a few years away from the scruffy face and major sideburns. But I did my best pseudo-Wolverine do possible. He was happy.

I also made breakfast for Caden this morning. Yes, MADE. Not “poured out of a box” breakfast that we normally have during the school week because Caden is a notoriously slow child in the morning. He’s a Child of Night, definitely not of the morning. So we typically have about 10-15 minutes to get food in him before heading off to school. 

But not today! Today I felt like Super Mom as I whipped him up some eggs, bacon, and toast with freshly squeezed orange juice (well, I didn’t freshly squeeze it…but somebody from Florida’s Natural did I’m sure). Don’t get me wrong, I really do love to cook but it’s really more of a time thing. Plus, I think from fasting all day yesterday I wanted something a bit more substantial than my traditional Frosted Mini Wheats. 

The Guy can cook up a mean breakfast – that is his speciality. I cook eggs better now because of watching him. He has it down to a science and man, do they taste good! Caden has very much appreciated the tutelage he has offered. He’s told me many a time over the past few months that my eggs “are so much yummier” and I take that as a big compliment. I have a picky eater for a kid and I’m dating a picky eater. These people are critical of everything; I have to do it right or suffer the roll of the eyes and exasperated sighs. 

So there you have it. I’ve become the coolest mom ever today because I somewhat styled a hairy beast and churned out a breakfast of champions. I think I will add those skills to my résumé.

cadens-hair-001

Leave a Reply

