I’m avoiding that chocolate chip

cookie1

I’m doing a little fast today. That sounds kind of funny. A “little” fast. Nothing about fasting is little, you give up food and drink for an entire day. That’s a whole heckuva lot! I mean, I have stayed away from my yummy Great Harvest Pumpkin Chocolate Chip bread, my delectable and creamy lemon yogurt, that Jolly Rancher I found in the corner of my desk…yeah, I am avoiding temptation. And yet finding it because I hate Jolly Ranchers – so how did one get on my desk? Damn Satan.

I am not fasting to lose weight so throw that out of your hat. I actually work with a girl who fasts four times a month just for the sole purpose of losing weight. Let’s just say that it’s not exactly working for her. Starving yourself one day and then binging the next doesn’t really shave off the poundage. Lining up Ho Ho’s on your desk as a treat post-fast doesn’t seem very productive, either. I am amazed that she still hasn’t figured that out. 

No, for me, I just decided that I am going to fast to get a little closer to the Spirit and hopefully gain a little peace in my life. I used to be able to not fast for more than four hours. I would get incredibly faint and weak and collapse. But during my “poor years” when I was literally scraping by ($1.50 for lunch – it bought me 2 slices of bread, a 25 cent sample of peanut butter, free jelly, and a 65 cent carton of milk at LDS Hospital for a year and a half), I learned how to maneuver around those reactions and train my body to not become a limp noodle. 

Now I have a Stomach of Steel. Ta da! Ooooo! Watch it stomp the cravings right out of existence! Marvel at its ability to quash tummy rumblings! All in the name of getting a little more focused, finding a little more clarity. 

Plus, fasting boosts my concentration because I have to let go of thinking about breakfast, lunch, and dinner and focus on other exciting stuff…like, work. And Caden’s sports. Oh, and painting! I am painting away, yes indeedy. And still more work. And did I mention Caden’s sports? And work. See? I am so focused already. Hmmm, what was I talking about again?

Fasting. Yeah, it’s a good thing.

One comment

  1. 4n0th3rs1nn3r · April 28, 2009

    I have fasted in order to focus myself as well. It is very effective for some people. Good luck and many blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

