Batter up…and down the break room

pancakes2

I seriously work at a cool place. I get to be the “activities coordinator” for my site and pretty much plan whatever my little heart desires…as long as it is within budget or I can do my best negotiating (read: pleading) with the sponsoring manager to go outside my budgetary boundaries.

This morning, we had a pancake breakfast going on in our lovely break room. I cajoled a couple of colleagues to bring in their griddles and act as line cooks for an hour. I told them it was going to be easy breezy to whip out a few flapjacks and serve ’em on up to an adoring and hungry crowd. They bought in and we had a lot of fun as we started popping out fluffy pancake after fluffy pancake. I love pancakes. Them’s good eatin’. 

Of course, my creative side can never stay still too long, even when it comes to pancake cooking. Round is so boring. Pancakes can be any shape/size you want! So I started with the traditional Mickey Mouse variety for a couple of Disney diehards. Then I wrote “Intel” in batter which was quite the hit. I also made square pancakes, triangle pancakes, a snake with chocolate chips in a diamond pattern, loads of yummalicious chocolate chip pancakes, pancake holes (you basically leave a hole in the middle as you pour a ring or square of batter), initials, and one sports car. 

Yep, I work hard at making my office a fun place to work…at least for the next few months. I recommend trying it if you have space at work. The mix is el cheapo and you just get syrup and butter and voila! Pancake party! Plus, what better way to entice people to work than the homey deliciously wonderful smell of pancakes cooking in the morning? It would’ve been great to have the fluffy buttermilk pancakes my dad can cook up. But buttermilk was not on our shopping list. 

My work day is already going great thanks to a little chocolate chip “A” that I made for myself. 

If you’ve never tried buttermilk pancakes before, give this baby a go. They are yum-um-y!

The Best (No Kidding) Buttermilk Pancakes

Ingredients

·         3 eggs, separated

·         1 2/3 cups buttermilk

·         1 teaspoon baking soda

·         2 teaspoons baking powder

·         1/2 teaspoon salt

·         1 1/2 cups flour

·         1 tablespoon sugar

·         3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Directions

Beat the yolks until pale and smooth.

Beat in the buttermilk and then the baking soda and mix well.

Sift in the dry ingredients mixing as you add; make sure the batter is smooth.

Add in the melted butter and mix well.

Beat the egg whites in another bowl until stiff.

Fold into the batter until no bits of white are visible.

Let batter stand about 20 minutes before making pancakes.

Make sure your griddle is really hot (the old water droplet test).

Ladle batter onto griddle; turn when buddles form across the cakes and allow to lightly brown on the second side.

Serve with warm maple syrup and sweet butter.

Leave a Reply

