The sun was so hot I just had to go

Ohhhh, Mexico. It’s where I was for the past seven days, rolling along the Rivieria on a beautiful boat with The Guy and a few of his friends. Back in January, he gave me a call and said,

“Hey, my friends want to go to on another cruise in March or April. You wanna go?”

“Ummm, this year?”

“Yeah, it’s kind of a last minute type of thing but the cruise fares are ridiculously low. So we thought we should take advantage of it. You wanna go? Or, I guess I should ask, can you go?”

“Ummm, I think so…”

Obviously I worked it all out so I could take a week off. And it came at a time when I really needed to get away for a break where you can pretty much do whatever in the heck you want for 7 days – except for getting out of the muster drill. Those are always so fun but that’s the only place you have to be. The rest of the time? I was ‘laxin!

It didn’t start out so well. My Blackberry? Stolen. My diamond earrings? Stolen. My camera? Forgot it. This was all before I even got on the darn ship last Saturday. I had to let it go so I could still enjoy my week. But my heart felt a bit not in it for the first day. However, it’s hard to not find happiness on a boat where every staff member is at your beck and call.

Here’s what I discovered during this last week:

  • Baja California is a bit cool…until you get further south
  • Going down to your first stop a ship will go sooooo slow so that you feel nothing; coming back, man, they are in a hurry and you will feel every little swell
  • Unlimited drink card = 43 pina coladas (virgin of course, and so gosh darn good)
  • Working out can happen any time that I want
  • Running on a ship is CRAZY when the boat is going UP and DOWN and you try to turn on the front of the ship and BAM! The wind just about knocks you down
  • The beautiful mult-course meals you have at the beginning of the cruise become sort of “unh” by the end (“We have to eat again?“)
  • Zip lining in a rain forest in Puerto Vallarta is totally AWESOME
  • You can make a bargain with anyone; never accept the first price offered. They will come down!
  • Sometimes you just have to learn how to deal
  • Mazatlan has the best sand of the three stops (PV and Cabo)
  • You can fit in Lovers Beach, jet skiing, a yummy lunch at Cabo Wabo in just about 4 hours 
  • Dolphins love to swim around tender boats
  • A gray whale is not gray – it’s more purplish pinkish
  • Everybody needs a time out
  • Bath & Body Works Patricia Weixler face cream with SPF 30 is simply fabulous (no sunburn all week)
  • Spray sunscreen goes fast – next time, 4 bottles
  • The ocean is the most beautiful and scary thing ever
  • Nothing beats a day on Deck 7 with my Kindle, my beach towel, sunglasses, ipod, and the sound of crashing waves against the boat 
  • P.S. The best kept secret is Deck 7 on the Sapphire Princess
  • The Sapphire Princess was the setting for The Love Boat, which, coincidentally ran in the afternoons on the ship’s tv (man, everybody and anybody was on that show!)
  • Massages in Mazatlan are $30 for an hour of total bliss
  • Being on a boat with 3,000 people can sometimes be the loneliest place in the world
  • Everyone deserves a bit of kindness
  • You never know what people may be dealing with so it’s best not to pre-judge
  • Life happens whether you are on a boat or at home…but at least on a boat someone can still bring you a yummy pina colada 🙂

These are the only two pictures I have from the trip because at the very least I remembered my lovely Polaroid. The Riviera was beautiful, the weather was gorgeous at each stop, and now I’m sitting back at home looking at a monster snowstorm. At least I’m a little tan!

kiss-by-riviera_0002

kiss-by-riviera_0001

4 comments

  1. Katie · March 29, 2009

    I can’t believe you haven’t called me yet. So what is going on with the Guy? Sounds like you had fun. I’m glad it was a good trip.

  2. Amy Goeser · March 30, 2009

    I love Mazatlan. I want to go back. Sound like you guys had fun! Remember, Allan and I have passports and LOVE to travel. Hint, hint. I keep telling Jeff but he never remembers his sister. Rude, huh? But I know if I tell you, you will remember! 🙂

  3. Natalie · March 30, 2009

    For a minute I felt bad for you, in a Nurse’s world “‘laxin” means something totally different.

  4. angelbrew · March 31, 2009

    How do you know that my ‘laxin wasn’t that of which you speak? I could’ve enjoyed that too…it was Mexico, after all…

Leave a Reply

