Mother Nature is my homey

runnergirl

Is anyone else (in Utah) enjoying the beautiful and unusually warm weather we’re experiencing as much as me? Because I am LOVING it! It’s teasing me with Spring and I am taking full advantage.

The best part about this weather is that it makes running outside so very enjoyable, yes indeedy. I can run at 5:30 at night and not feel like half of my face is going to drop off or freeze in mid-grimace so that I look like some special ALS patient out for a run. I was getting tired of people throwing concerned or overly pitiful congratulatory looks my way because of how the bitter cold affected my face: “Aw, look at her! She’s running! Good for you, honey! Way – to – go!” Ah yes, the slow speech pattern we all somehow affect when talking to someone of a potentially lesser mental capacity. Or foreigners. Same diff. Of course, it didn’t help when my knee was really in the throes of pain and I was compensating a bit, thus making my normal running gait look a bit like I was jumping imaginary mini hurdles. Couple that with Stroke Victim Face and yeah, I was my own Special Olympics on Parade. 

Anyhoo, I’m getting off track. I meant this post to be all about how much I am loving Mother Nature right now. Everything is so pretty and starting to turn green albeit prematurely but still – GREEN. It puts me in such a good mood that she’s cooperating so nicely with my running schedule that music just springs forth everytime I step outside:

She’s got style, she’s got grace, she’s a winner

She’s a Lady, whoa whoa whoa, she’s a lady

Talking about that little lady, and the lady is mine

I don’t know why Tom Jones is singing in my head about this weather but do I really care? Ummm, nope.

I just got online today to get myself registered with my Hood to Coast team for our big event at the end of August. I am SOOOO excited for this race! I did it a couple of years ago and it is just a party and a half. This year I will be in Van 2 so I’m looking at all the legs right now, trying to determine which one I want to take on and which one I want to avoid (I’m thinking it’s Leg 9/21/33; Jason, that is ALL yours). Nothing beats running at all hours of the day and night, riding in a van with 5 other sweaty folks, and getting hardly any sleep at all for about 36 hours. Some people use drugs to get that euphoric. Me? Hood to Coast, baby.

Besides Hood to Coast, I’m currently training for the San Diego Marathon at the end of May. I am a little behind in my training thanks to my bum knee but no worries. My goal in any race is to finish with a smile on my face. To help with my SD Marathon training, I will proably do the Salt Lake Half Marathon on April 18th. I wanted to do the Ogden Half as well mid-May but it sold out already. Dang it!

Did I mention that I am loving the weather we are having? And that it reminds me that racing season is just around the corner with so many fun events coming up? Yay! Celebrate good times COME ON! 

Leave a Reply

