Singin’ my heart out

imgp0258

(photo courtesy of The Guy)

This was me last year on my cruise to the Southern Caribbean. For some odd reason that I still can not justify, I felt compelled to get up and try a little karaoke the first night of the cruise. I love to sing but I would not call myself a solo singer whatsoever; I feel more comfortable surrounded by a couple of others that will help boo!”st my confidence. However, I am a notorious daredevil – if you dare me to do something, I will do it (barring any legal ramifications, of course). And guess what The Guy dared me to do?

“I betcha you can’t do it,” he taunted.

“Do what? Sing? I can do whatever I want. Sheesh.”

“Prove it. Get up there and sing!”

I looked around, maybe 30 people were filing up the small lounge area so I took a deep breath, walked over to the massive song catalog and proceeded to find the song “Out Tonight” from Rent. And then I had to sit there and wait…and wait…and wait for minutes, all the while my stomach was churning and my hands were shaking. What was I thinking?!? 

The next thing I knew I was being introduced as the gal to kick off the inaugural karaoke night on the Crown Princess. And about 20 more people had trickled on in. I was literally sick to my stomach. Oh well. Here I go: “What’s the time? Well, it’s gotta be close to mid-niiiiggghht…” Halfway through I started to relax a little bit so that by the end I was throwing my arm up in the air on the chorus: “Ooooooooouuuuuuuuuut tonight! I have to gooooooooo…nah-nah-nah ooooooouuuuuuut tonight!”

Singin’ my heart out and not even caring. That’s exactly what I was doing. I was still shaking after I was done but it was more from exhilaration than desperation. And it was so much FUN. Still scary. Still almost completely paralyzing. But I can’t help but smile everytime I think back on it.

Why do I bring this up? Because next Wednesday I am supposed to sing as part of our Valentines Luncheon and I’m a litte freaked out – AGAIN. This time it’s part of a guitar duet with my buddy, Evan. He’s Mr. Guitar Extraordinaire and he’s put together a rendition of Colbie Caillat’s Realize. Ai yi yi, my stomach is churning. I told him we should do something silly and fun like perform Sonny and Cher’s I Got You Babe, and I would be Sonny and he could be Cher. I can do funny – but serious??? Help me, help me, help me.

I guess I just have to keep reminding myself that it pays to sing your heart out every once in awhile. Doesn’t it? I have to look at the picture again.

Leave a Reply

