Blowing it up at work

kazooI am sitting in my little cubicle laughing my head off right now. I just distributed 117 kazoos to all employees on our floor. Why? Because today is National Fun at Work Day and coincidentally, National Kazoo Day (or not so coincidentally).  And because I am the leader for our Positive, Engaged, Prepared (PEP) team at our site, I try to make things as fun as possible. Especially considering we are all losing our jobs – or having to relocate out of state – by the end of this year. 

I am all about the laughter. Imagine all the surprised faces and goofy smiles I was able to pull out of people when I gave them a kazoo and said, “Happy National Kazoo Day! And National Fun at Work Day!” Not a single person was a grump about it. You can’t help but smile when somebody hands you a kazoo.

So here I sit, listening to a few people try out their kazoos. Most won’t work, really, because they are cheap plastic and cost $.12 cents. Somebody did ask me why they couldn’t have received a really good kazoo and I replied, “Because those really high end kazoos are $3; we’re in a recession. Take the $.12 cent kazoo.” 

I can actually hear at this moment a chorus of three kazoos wafting strains of “Be kind to your webfooted friends…for a duck may be somebody’s muuuuuuhhhh – ther. Be kind to your friends in the swamp…where the weather is very, very damp.” Complete with marching feet. I’m not sure if those are the real lyrics but since I was raised on a tape of Glen Miller and his rousing rendition of “Sweet Violets”, this is all I know. It still cracks me up. 🙂

Blow some hot air today and get a kazoo!

Oh, and by the way, nobody is taking me seriously on the prize I offered below. I TOTALLY am going to send out the prize – so Amy, if I don’t hear from anybody else with any other guesses by Friday, you win!

3 comments

  1. Amy · January 28, 2009

    Good news for me!!

  2. Amy · January 28, 2009

    Will you send me a Kazoo too?

  3. mavischirps · February 2, 2009

    Ang, will you email me at whitney_hill@hotmail.com? I have some questions about wordpress and what theme you are using and so much more. Thanks
    Whit

Leave a Reply

