A BIG event (we were awed)

I asked Caden last week what he would like to do for our date night that was coming up and he said, “Go see the dinosaurs.” 

“The dinosaurs? You mean, like, in Vernal?”

“Huh? What’s Vernal? No, I mean that show ‘Walking with Dinosaurs‘!”

Apparently, this new show that came into town gave you an opportunity to see dinosaurs up close and personal – in a completely harmless and utterly non-threatening but totally educational way. I hadn’t heard much about this show and truthfully didn’t have high expectations for it. I just imagined big puppets that walked around the stage and didn’t do much. Well, I was right on the puppeteering but so dead wrong on how boring or uncool it would be.

Walking with Dinosaurs was awesome. We had great seats and I have to say I was completely taken aback at how engrossing it was to watch these giant monsters move about the stage. Parents learned quickly that there probably should’ve been an age limit for kids who would enjoy it and which ones would be scarred for life and possibly have nightmares for days on end. The opening scene with “real” dinosaurs involved an Allosaur coming in and biting the head of a baby dinosaur and carting it off stage. Yeah. There’s the food chain in action kids. One little boy behind me screamed out, “Daddy! The baby’s head is dead!”

That being said, the puppets were incredible and the actors inside made them appear lifelike. It really was as if you were watching a live dinosaur at times. The Brachiosaurus was fantastic, the Triceratops fascinating, and the Tyrannosaurus Rex was the coup de grace – he took your breath away at the end of the show (and subsequently your hearing). You can check out a great clip of how they move here.

We happened to be at the 3:00 p.m. show on Saturday which was probably 65% sold out. The family in front of me mentioned how in many cities the entire run sells out in just a few hours but in Salt Lake that didn’t happen because of the predominant religion. Mmm hmm. Because of the whole “evolution thing” he said. Um, no, I don’t think it was because of that. I think it more had to do with the fact that it was kind of a pricey show and families in Utah have several kids, so short of taking out a small loan, how could they afford to take them all? Sheesh. Predominant religion, my foot.

Anyway, it was still very cool and totally worth the ticket price. 

caden-roar

trex-roar

2 comments

  1. Amy · January 20, 2009

    Sounds cool!

    We don’t get stuff like that down here. It must have something to do with the prominent religion in this region. Don’t you just love stupid people? I do. It gives me something to make fun of in this otherwise boring world.

    I think my kids would love it, however, Carson might be a little young to see it. It looks like Caden had a blast!

    I have to admit, I’m pretty jealous of the cool dinosaur show that I will never see.

  2. Steve and Amy Wright · January 20, 2009

    Derek got to see this show when they were in Phoenix. He thought it was pretty cool too. What a fun mother/son date.

Leave a Reply

