The Do Betters

paintbrushers

I’ve decided that rather than make a huge list of things I would like to work on this year (more popularly known as “resolutions”), I am going to live by one theme and one theme only: Do Better. Yes, some may see this as avoiding the ritual of putting specifics around what I want to accomplish, but really I see it as just a new way to react to life. Instead of just the regular “Lose 15 pounds”, “Read 30 books”, “Travel to Fiji”, “Publish that Best Seller that will free me from cubicle life”, I am taking the approach that I could simply Do Better all across the board.

I need to Do Better at:

  • Being more patient with Caden (this is an endless task, I anticipate)
  • Getting back to my consistent running routine (knees, please PLEASE be nice to me this year!)
  • Pulling my paints/canvases/easels/paper out and spending time just being CREATIVE
  • Vacuuming
  • Reaching out to friends I haven’t talked to in awhile
  • Using the mountainous loads of scrapbook supplies I have accumulated over the past seven years
  • Telling stress to take a hike
  • Not expecting others to live up to all of my overly hyped up expectations (well, some of them anyway)
  • Loving unconditionally and with nothing needed in return
  • Destroying dust in my house
  • Embracing change as a wonderful opportunity
  • Saving, saving, saving for that rainy day…and not looking through the truckloads of catalogs that end up in my mailbox
  • Showing affection more openly – hugs for everybody!
  • Laughing even when I want to cry and sometimes feel sorry for myself
  • Letting go when I realize I don’t have the control
  • Being grateful for every day, especially the Tattered Torn Days
  • Just being better

By no means is this an all encompassing list, merely just a starting point to get me thinking about all the things where I could really do and BE better. And it doesn’t necessarily mean I need to make monumental changes to be better; some things require small changes and a bit more care and attention. It’s all incremental, not monumental.

I have 365 days to go towards being just a little bit better.

2 comments

  1. Susan · January 5, 2009

    So! Are you still in your house, or did you move? Where are you at? We need to get together soon. Your list is a good one. I haven’t even thought of what to work on for the new year. Who needs resolutions anyway?!? Hopefully we’ll talk soon! 🙂

  2. whitney · January 20, 2009

    Ang, I am catching up and loving every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

