You know how life can just sometimes get in the way? 🙂

A little over one week ago, I wrapped up a two day conference up at Snowbird that I helped plan/organize/oversee. I had no idea how much I had deprived myself of sleep and food over the anxiety of making it a success until last Friday. I think I slept for 11 hours straight.

The conference, though, was a smashing success! We had head VP’s from all over the globe come attend so it was quite the high visibility project. Each site around the globe had held a similar conference but ours was a bit unique; we had to twist the agenda to reflect the fact that Utah is closing and we will all be either losing our jobs or moving within the next 8-12 months. Many employees at our site came up to me prior to the event and were not excited – even angry – about us organizing this conference. But at the end of two days? Every single one of them came up to me and said how meaningful and important the conference had been. THAT was the best part, not how well the decorations, food, and agenda came off.

The snow couldn’t have come at a more perfect time: it snowed 5 FEET while we were up there! I stayed up overnight from Monday to Wednesday and when I came out to my car ready to leave Wednesday afternoon, this is what I found:

 

hr-events-car

It is so nice to be a woman and be able to play Damsel in Distress so that I can have 7 men help dig me out. It took them a little over an hour to clear me out enough so I could make it up the hill and down the canyon. The snow also conveniently reflected our chosen event logo of a snowflake. The VP’s were quite impressed and we even had 14 people from Costa Rica attend, 3 of whom never had seen snow in their life.

snowflake-ambiance

I ordered a bunch of snowflake schtuff from Oriental Trading, found little snowflake chocolates from Trafton’s Chocolates, and spread mints in the shape of a snowflake with our logo on it across the tables. We had a pretty tight  budget so I couldn’t go overboard, but it still looked pretty dang good if I do say so myself. I ordered fleece vests for the committee with our snowflake logo embroidered on it and they loved them (they wear them all the time).

This is Rob and me getting ready to kick off the conference:

 

sitting-and-planning

Rob was our master of music. He wrote personal musical intros for each of our speakers which were totally hilarious. We ended up being the highest rated conference that was held because of all the little details and personal touches we added. I wish I would have had time to take pictures! But being the coordinator, I had no time and really no freedom to do so. I’m glad a few other committee members snapped a few shots here and there so I could remember a few things.

Two days and a lot – I mean A LOT – of work, prep, and good old sweat went into making it a rousing success. My thank you is a dinner out at Ruth Chris AND a dinner out at Market Street Broiler. Thank heavens my appetite has returned…

2 comments

  1. Susan · November 14, 2008

    Such a busy lady! Have you decided to move with your company? We need to get together soon!

  2. Katie · November 14, 2008

    Wow I am impressed! Great work, you should be very proud of yourself. I guess that is why I haven’t seen much from your blog lately..you’ve been too busy. I was thinking, “what happened to Angie???”
    Glad all is well, Love you and miss you. Tell Caden hi for me.

Leave a Reply

