What he said

Daily I ask Caden about school.

“How was school today? What did you learn?”

Some days I get the same answer.

“It was good.”

And nothing else.

Sometimes he adlibs and this is when I love our conversations.

“Today Mrs. Millar came in with a puppet show to teach us about important things like patience, honesty, and open mindedness and two other things I don’t remember. I liked the patience show best because Josh was a pilot who crashed.”

Mmmm….k.

A few minutes later he turned to me and made one of his out of the blue comments. “I hit my funnybone today and it didn’t make me laugh.”

Totally straightfaced. Totally in sincerity. Not understanding why laughter wasn’t part of a funnybone. I busted up laughing.

He’s my funnybone.

Leave a Reply

