Carmel-by-the-sea

On my one-day sojourn to San Diego from Folsom, I decided to take a brief break in Carmel-by-the-sea mainly because it just sounded so romantic and intriguing. Anything titled City-by-the-sea just begs to be visited. I was interested in finding out if the tiny town was like it’s name, full of whimsy and charm or just a misnomer.

Yes–oh most certainly YES–it was like its name. How would you like to live in a place where all the houses look like this?

The architecture on these homes made my jaw drop. Every home looked like something from out of a fairytale. I half expected Snow White to walk out of a couple of them or birds to flock to my shoulder and begin to serenade me in song.

This house is appropriately called The Hansel House. I was looking for gingerbread shingles.

The whole town has an artistic-creative vibe about it which makes complete sense considering famous artists/authors/actors have lived here (Ansel Adams, Upton Sinclair, Clint Eastwood). I looked into its history a bit more when I came home and discovered that artists, poets, and writers started to flock there around 1910. I can completely see why. My creative juices went into overdrive being there for only a couple of hours.

After touring the town with my mouth agape and my eyes spread wide, I headed on down to the beach because hey, it’s a beach. For the next hour, I just kicked back and relaxed on the sand, finishing the book I brought down with me, The Glass Castle (READ IT!).

If heaven happens to be a beach, then I have a lot to look forward to. Nothing beats a day lounging on a beach, listening to the waves crush upon each other as they come ashore. I had the hardest time prying myself away to leave and get driving for another 6 hours. I was half tempted to just forget the mud run altogether and enjoy the serenity of Carmel-by-the-sea.

Obviously I moved on down the coast to San Diego, more specifically, Del Mar. But I’ll talk more about that tomorrow. Meanwhile, enjoy a little glimpse of Carmel.

2 comments

  1. Susan · October 20, 2008

    It looks like a beautiful place! I’ll have to remember it when we are looking for some place to go! I’ll bet it was hard to come home.

  2. carmelresortinncottages · July 22, 2011

    Carmel Resort Inn Cottages is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned “artists” cottages. Warm, geniune hospitality, and sparkling clean rooms makes Carmel Resort Inn Cottages the traveler’s choice! http://www.carmelresortinncottages.com

Leave a Reply

