Trading snow for sun

I made the great escape – leaving snow on my front lawn for sunny CA. I left Sunday night to f-r-e-e-z-i-n-g weather: my toes were froze, my nose was froze, my plane was froze (sat there on the tarmac for 40 minutes while they de-iced us), and all I could think was “It will be 80 degrees in California. It will be 80 degrees in California.”

 

And it is. Yeeha. I’m currently housed in Silicon Valley espousing the virtues of my company’s education programs. I’ve been able to sit outside for lunch, basking in the SUN and wishing I never had to go back inside the building. It just smells warm here, so wonderfully inviting compared to crispy air that causes your teeth to chatter.

Besides the golden glow I’m relishing, I am ready to buy the bed I’ve been sleeping in at my hotel. Of course, anything feels wonderful to me when I’m away from my 70’s mattress (if you think I jest…), but seriously this bed is heaven on earth. If I didn’t feel motivated to get up and go running or go to the gym around the corner, I would spend all morning long curled up in it’s downy softness and fluffy goodness. My day doesn’t start until 10 a.m. this week (although it goes until 8 p.m.) and I could really, really enjoy the extra hours in bed with room service and the in-house masseuse on call. Buuuut I need to get moving…to not feel so lazy…

I do wish I had more time to explore the city. I would love to go down to Santa Cruz or up to San Francisco but long days don’t leave a lot of time for exploring. Today is the worst schedule of all: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. and 9-11 p.m. Ai yi yi.

Tomorrow I leave on our company commuter jet to the next site in Folsom and then on to San Diego Friday. Maybe I will get a chance to post a pic or two…

3 comments

  1. Amy · October 15, 2008

    Boo for the snow! I absolutely hate snow that’s why I live down here! However, a trip to Cali would be lovely…

  2. Amanda · October 16, 2008

    Hey, Fancy Nancy! What do you do for your work? Certainly, it sounds grueling and busy, but it also sounds a bit high-falootin’. I love California in the winter.

  3. angelbrew · October 20, 2008

    I wish I could say I did something so exotic and completely intriguing. Well, I guess it can be from time to time. I am a Communications Manager for a rather large technological company. Not a techie writer – more of the feel-good type. I like to think I make people happy, not bog them down with unimportant details and corporate speak.
    While it was BUSY, it was also kind of nice. Especially the ride on one of the corporate jets. That was particularly EXCITING. I felt all important and pampered – for all of about 65 minutes. But I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

