Celebrating a good choice

The biggest blessing we are given in this life is our free agency. Just ask my mom. She spoke Saturday at Caden’s baptism and retiterated what many of us realize as we grow older: having the freedom to make our own choices is the greatest gift we could ever receive. And Caden made a great choice to become a full member of our church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

I’ve been telling him all year long that this was a special year for him, the year he turns 8 which means the “age of accountability”. It’s one of the banner moments you experience, becoming a member of the church and I was so happy that we had as many family members that could be there as possible.

Caden was baptized by my brother, Ben, and needed me to reassure him on numerous occasions that Ben would not drown him.  

“No, I promise you he won’t drown you,” I’d say.

“How long am I under water, Mom? Like, two minutes? How long do I have to hold my breath?”

“Maybe two seconds! Seriously buddy, it’s not that long.”

Caden shared his day with another little girl in our branch whose name was Jaiden (yes, the rhyming convention of the two was kind of funny). Jaiden was baptized first and Caden paid close attention to the scene. Once he realized how quickly it happened and that it wasn’t scary at all, he turned to my brother and said, “C’mon, Ben, let’s go!” and practically dragged him into the baptismal font.

My dad confirmed him a member and Caden was lucky to have his two uncles, Ben and Ryan, and his grandpa – or Poppa – Cal be there as part of that ordinance. It’s amazing how fast this day approaches and then suddenly, there they are standing in front of the church being introduced as the newest members of the congregation.

All I can say is that I’m so proud of you, bud, and excited for many more milestones to occur in your life down the road. Yet it all happens so darn fast…

3 comments

  1. Susan · September 8, 2008

    Congratulations! What an exciting day for you guys. Before you know it he’ll be passing the sacrament! Then you’ll look again and he’ll be on his mission! But we won’t think about that, right?!? Because if he is getting older, then that means we are too! 🙂

  2. Emmy · September 9, 2008

    I’m so sad I missed it! What a great kid..and Ang, you look beautiful in that picture. Love you guys!

  3. Amanda · September 9, 2008

    Oh, what a tremendous day. Ours is coming up in a few months and I have such a wealth of emotion: pride, disbelief, humility. What a wonderful choice you made, Caden. A choice that if you let it, will bring you the greatest happiness in your life. Thanks for sharing, Angie. And I agree: You. Are. Gorg!

Leave a Reply

