Nothing better than freshly shaved legs for your birthday

Yep, today is my day. I don’t say that because I want lots of well wishes, cards, phone calls, and really cool presents to keep me going; I just like celebrating my day. I greet my birthdays with great aplomb; I don’t care if I’m one year older because I have a birthday tradition that gets me focused and excited to face my little world. The tradition involves my pink Daisy razor, slathered-on shaving gel, and tantalizingly smooth legs.

Ahhh, nothing beats a freshly shaved pair of legs for your birthday. Not a beautiful Tiffany ring, a trip to Paris, shopping spree at Anthro, day at the spa, a single thing. I rub my legs together for good luck just because it feels so good. Sometimes I leave stubble just for scratching purposes but not today! Today is all about the “Oooo” and “Ahhhh” factor.

You may ask, “Does anybody else get the opportunity to enjoy those silky soft stems of yours?” Sadly, no. I do not allow rubbing except from the right person but you may gaze from afar. This is purely a self-indulgent act, keeping it real — keeping it real smooth.

I got dressed today (thank heavens because that walking into work naked thing sure didn’t work yesterday), dropped Caden off at school, and headed to have my own little birthday breakfast celebration at my favorite place to eat breakfast in the entire world: The Original Pancake House. They have the best crepes this side of France, honest to goodness, and I relished my Bananas & Apricot crepe with breakfast potatoes most heartily. I sat there with book in hand, crossing my legs back and forth just to feel again that yes, freshly shaved legs are glorious. Especially on your birthday.

As I sailed on into work, I came in dressed with a furtive grin like I held a great secret that no one else knew but me. The security guard was aware that something about me was a-buzz and commented, “You look like you’ve had a good morning. So nice to see a smiling face enter the building like that these days.” “Well, what can I say? I’m having a good day.”

I wished I could have whispered to him the answer to my infectious mood: “Psst – on your birthday, shave your legs.” But I don’t know if a 68 year old man would be up for that.

And now here I sit at my desk, typing away, answering emails, making phone calls, attending meetings, and just generally enjoying the confidence that a good clean pair of legs brings. Seriously, it’s been a really good day. And all I did is shave my legs.

{um, yeah, don’t think that this is the only day I shave my legs; I just do it more lovingly on my b-day}

5 comments

  1. glorious · September 4, 2008

    stumbled upon you by chance.

    Happy Birthday!!!

  2. Tiffany Sloan · September 4, 2008

    LOVED IT ! Sounds like a great little birthday ritual you got going on. Way to spend the day just how you like it. Girl I need some of your running skills seriously !!!(sorry saw an older post) Happy Birthday !!!!

  3. Amanda · September 5, 2008

    Shave my legs today too! Must’ve known it was your special day. Happy birthday to you; may your legs take you to the moon and back.

  4. Natalie Campbell · September 5, 2008

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Yes, freshly shorn legs, a pancake house, and almost going naked–sounds like a perfect storm of happiness! Glad it was a good day!!!

  5. whitney · September 6, 2008

    Happy Birthday! I hope you are still smiling all aglow with smoothness.

Leave a Reply

