So over it

Not to take anything away from the “spirit of camaraderie” during these Olympic times, but there are just some things that I feel a need to point out as items I am “so over”. There comes a point when you’ve had too much of a good thing (well, some things were never good from the beginning). I don’t know how or why some of the following items became popular or newsworthy, but all I just have to say is I am so over it!

  • The “Go Green” movement – so over it. Great, I appreciate efforts of those who want to reduce, reuse, recyle, buy funny lightbulbs that you can’t just throw away, wear only organic cottons, eat only organic fruits and vegetables and meat and chocolate, don’t flush for a long time because it “wastes water”, picket grocery stores because they have plastic bags, bicycle to work because they don’t have a 50 mile one-way trip, lecture SUV drivers on their wasteful consumption of gasoline, don’t wear shoes because they are “pollutants”, don’t drive cars because they are “pollutants”, dislike cattle because they are “pollutants”, are Christmas Scrooges because lights on your house waste energy and electricity, think the earth is in a menopausal state – I could go on and on. Sheesh…be responsible but stop shoving propaganda down my throat, thank you very much.
  • Those family rub-on stickers on the backs of cars, mini-vans, SUV’s. “Check us out! We have a cute stick-figure family – 3 boys, 2 girls, 1 dog, a fish, and look! I’m pregnant!” And now they actually have stickers where activities are involved! Are you kidding me? Who in the heck thought this up and then said, “You must place this in the left corner of your rear windshield”? Okay, maybe the first couple I saw several years ago were kind of cute and unique but as I am on the freeway A LOT, I happen to see 5,000 of these lovely creations A DAY and it is not cute anymore. Ugh! I am sooo over it.custom-stick-figures-car-lg.jpg
  • Celebrities having babies and it actually being headline news, or in fact, world breaking news. Congratulations. You figured out how it works and you can breed. Why do I care? So over it.
  • Campaign 2008. ‘Nuff said.
  • Expensive designer jeans. Now, before I talk about this one, I will admit that I own a few pairs of designer jeans – and I love them. What I am so over is the fact that the prices keep going up and the economy ain’t so hot with gas and housing issues and I’m thinking, ‘I can not be fiscally responsible and spend that much money on one pair of jeans. Darn you! Bring the prices down and maybe I can look at them again!’ So I just have to let it go. And truth be told, I’ve found some other great jeans I love that are maybe 1/5 of the cost (go to Maurice’s – love their jeans!).
  • This stupid guy haircut. What the heck is wrong with you? Are you a pixie? Did you want to audition to be in Peter Pan? Or maybe it was A Midsummer Night’s Dream as a wood nymph? The flat bangs swiped across your head? Were you in a windstorm? A hurricane? Had a fight and lost to a hair dryer? What gives? Sooooo over it.http://jasonbgiok.proboards7.com/index.cgi?action=gotopost&board=general&thread=669&post=28982
  • The crazy game show phase that seems to have grown/multiplied/exploded on TV. I don’t even watch TV hardly at all and yet when I do, they are always advertising some new game show: Are you Smarter than a Fifth Grader?, Deal or No Deal, America’s Worst Jobs, Honey, Let’s Lie to Win Money, Marry Your Sister, Fight with Your Family – so over all of you.
  • Gas prices in Utah. I would post something here with the letters W and T and F but that would be completely unlady-like of me and all I have to say is that I am so over it.
  • Everyone and their dog. I’m not talking about you and your dog specifically; I’m talking about the saying, “Everyone and their dog”, as in “Did you go to that party last night? I swear, everyone and their dog was there.” Really? Is this the best metaphor for “hugely crowded circumstance” out there? Again, where did this phrase originate from? And why does it have to be a dog? Some people are cat people, or fish people, or reptile people. Is it because if you said, “Everybody and their snake was there” you’d get creeped out? What about “Everybody and their emu?” Or how about inanimate objects like “Everybody and their combine harvester”? But I am just so over the dog issue.
  • These. What the freak…crazy printed hoodies that are just not attractive whatsoever.
  • And they are usually paired with these. So over it!  
  • Oh, and they typically come with the aforementioned haircut above. Blecccchh!

I think I’ll stop because frankly, I’m so out of time in being able to post anymore. I have to run to some very all-important meeting that makes me feel like I am actually accomplishing work, sitting around and sharing ideas and listening to double talk. Yeah…so over that too.

5 comments

  1. Hilary Duff · August 12, 2008

    So yesterday. So yesterday. I’m just a bird that’s already flown away.

  2. angelbrew · August 12, 2008

    Don’t cry, Hilary. I feel your pain. Not everyone can be the next Hannah Montana.

  3. whitney · August 12, 2008

    Ang, I saw the car stickers with the mom figure torn off! Bad breakup?
    You are too funny.

  4. amanda · August 13, 2008

    Oh I HATE those family stickers, and the worst are the ones with everyone’s name under them! Seriously, people won’t leave Utah County for fear of being molested by the greasy city folk, but they’ll post little “Bryan’s” name under his diminutive picture for all the world to see! Blegh. And I hate that haircut too – it’s usually accompanied by those skinny jeans which NEVER look cute on boys and only on girls who are 5’1 and weigh 83 pounds.

  5. Rebecca · August 15, 2008

    I am laughing so hard at this post. I relate to everything you said, especially those cheesy family stickers. They are the worst. I think I’ll have to start my own “so over it” list. I’m sure it will be quite lengthy.

Leave a Reply

