Beat the heat…somewhere else

I just have to say this about Vegas: it’s too blasted HOT! Especially in June. And I wouldn’t even dream of spending time down there in July. I spent the past couple of days down there with The Guy and all I have to say is I was dying to come back home to 90 degree weather.

Sadly, I completely forgot to take any pictures while I was down there. Not a single one. I did have some very interesting adventures/mishaps that occurred however. First off, the plane was delayed leaving Salt Lake. Not entirely unusual but when you are supposed to land in Vegas by 8 p.m. to be at a show that starts at 9 p.m., you start to worry about these little delays. We landed at 8:15 and The Guy headed off to get the rental car while I decided to pick up the baggage. By 8:45 I was just barely getting the luggage and called The Guy on the phone.

“Do you have the car yet? Can you come pick up me curbside?”

“Well, not exactly. Our reservation is locked up along with two other guys named J___”

“Huh?”

Apparently, Dollar rental had some quirk in their system that had three guys named J___ sitting there with no access to their cars. And it was only guys name J___ (and they all became best friends). This took ONE HOUR to fix!! So we missed Wayne Brady. Sad. I sat out in the sweltering heat (102 degrees at 10:00 p.m. at night) with my laptop on and decided just to work away. The security that screams at people to move their car (“No stopping! Just run and jump in the car as it pulls by you!”) kept coming by and looking at my screen. I’m sure they were wondering if I was up to no good…

Monday evening we had a chance to actually catch the other show we had tickets for, Cirque du Soleil’s Mystere. The Guy and I were very impressed, although he did keep whispering to me, “What the heck is going on here?” Ah yes, the French way of telling non-linear stories. I just told him not to worry; it was all written when a guy was on an acid trip. That seemed to make the most sense to him.

All in all, it was a nice break away for a couple of days but the 106 degree weather with hot, dry winds was enough to give me a headache. And it did. I ended up with probably one of the worst migraines of my life all day Tuesday. Poor The Guy didn’t know what to do to make me feel better. 

One of the highlights, though, was eating at Smith & Wollensky’s. We’re talking prime steak, folks. The Guy is pretty frugal and just about passed out when he saw the bill, but it was some of the best food I’ve ever eaten! And the service was unbelievable. All I have to say is Au Poivre Filet and Truffle Mac & Cheese. YUM.

4 comments

  1. Katie · June 19, 2008

    sounds like you had a fun time with ‘the guy’. That is yucky hot weather. I had a soccer tourny down there once in July, yeah it sucked. I’m glad you guys had fun together. Hope Caden is doing better.

  2. Natalie · June 19, 2008

    I’m confused; when was the “work” on this “work trip”? Glad you had fun though.

  3. amanda · June 20, 2008

    Vegas in the summer? No thanks. Too bad about your show, but those Cirque du Soleil shows are unbelievable. I’ve seen “O” and it blew my mind. Too bad about the headache. Guys hate it when something’s wrong and they can’t fix it or shush it. Oooh, and the steak? Every once in a blue moon, a $150 steak dinner is just what a girl needs.

  4. Pingback: And then we went back « The Eyes have it

Leave a Reply

