The crack of the bat

Last night was Caden’s second to last baseball game and it was a beautiful evening to enjoy America’s favorite pasttime. Due to our crazy weather this Spring, some of his games have left me frozen, some suffering from wind burn, and some dying from heat (but not too many of those). Yet last night was just so beautiful – it reminded me why I like Spring so much. Everything is fragrant and green and the sky displays such color as the sun sets.

As to the game, the Dodgers beat the Cardinals 10-5 and Caden enjoyed a couple of really great hits, a pop fly catch, and he tagged a guy out running home. All this with a sore eye, poor kid. In warmups prior to the start of the game, his coach (a guy I went to jr. high and high school with – Tom F) throws the ball to kids in a line so they practice catching. Caden was behind another kid, waiting his turn, not paying attention (like most 7 & 8 yr olds are prone to do), and the kid missed catching the ball and it smacked Caden right in the eye. Ouch. I think he may actually have a chance to get his first shiner!

Tonight is his last game of the season, unless they make the playoffs which I think is highly unlikely as they played several other teams that were older and beat the living daylights out of them. And although I love watching him play because he loves sports with such passion, I’m ready to say adios to two games a week. Some other sport will pop up soon, I’m sure.

  

 

Oh, and one more thing – he lost his fifth tooth last night! Awww…he’s just growing up too fast for me.

 

2 comments

  1. Katie · June 4, 2008

    Caden is looking so old, I can’t believe it! I love the pictures that you take. Do you edit them on your camera or do you have a program like adobe or something? I’m curious because I wish I could make my pics look as good!

  2. amanda · June 4, 2008

    What a handsome man! That last picture of him is magazine-worthy.

Leave a Reply

