Just shut up and drive

I don’t think I can complain enough about how much I have to drive each and every day. It’s just not fair, it really isn’t. And I’m really shooting for some sympathy here. Anytime I start to go off on this subject, it’s usually because I’ve had a pretty crappy commute into work (a sweet 1.5 hour commute into work this morning). I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I drive TOO much! My one way mileage into work? 48 miles. Which makes a return trip almost an even 100 miles for the day. You do the math – 100 miles a day x 5 days of work = lots of money going out the door. Bye-bye hard earned money that I would love to be spending at Anthropologie or on a great trip somewhere (the cost to buy something at Anthro and to go on the trip are just about the same). No, just kidding, the responsible side of me would be saying to save that money for a rainy day…to go shopping…at Whimsy.

To be honest, the 100 miles a day is sadly under what I really drive. Because these days it’s all about Spring sports. Last night I watched Caden play baseball (he had two doubles) and then immediately drove him to flag football (one interception, one almost-touchdown). So I figure I was somewhere around 145 miles for the day. Sitting at his game I was thinking, ‘Why am I doing this to myself? This is ludicrous! If I’m driving this much, I should really be buying stock in Exxon…” And then I see Caden get all jazzed about football and how excited he is for his next baseball game which happens to be tonight (two games a week until June – joy), and I realize that it’s worth the investment to see him thrive. So I should just shut up and drive.

However, I am seriously thinking of getting a second job to pay for gas. 🙂

Little side note: By the way, to all you ridiculously undeveloped drivers out there who find it hilarious or possibly a little self-righteous to SIT in the FAST lane going 65 mph, I’m telling you for the last time: GET OUT OF MY WAY. Since I drive so much, I do drive so very fast (but of course, very responsibly – hahahaha) and when I am coming up on you, move it or lose it, bub. The left lane is the fast lane, not the latest “Ooo! What pretty scenery!” or “I ain’t movin’ my truck because I own this road, missy” or even “What?? Somebody’s behind me? I have a rearview mirror??” moment. Check your sorry slow arse into the next lane, pretty please. I have places to go.

*Just a simple message from an overwrought driver who is fed up with the highway insanity that exists in her state; she politely suggests you get a clue.

**Just another follow-up: um, yeah, I’m not some angry driver so don’t freak out over this. I am, however, a wee bit weary and frustrated over driving all the gosh-darn-live-long day. But in the spirit of looking at the brightside, I do get to drive by some beautiful mountains every day that take my breath away. Try observing the morning light from one end of the valley to the other from 7:17 a.m. to 8:08 a.m. WOW.

3 comments

  1. Allison · May 7, 2008

    You frighten me.

  2. angelbrew · May 7, 2008

    Sweetie, you are just discovering this now? Come spend a week driving with me and see if you go insane, too.

  3. Amanda (Mariotti) Calton · May 7, 2008

    Boo. That doesn’t sound fair, unless you weigh it against this: I only drive with 4 children in tow which means I only listen to Disney soundtracks and Hannah Montana cd’s. When I do get to drive somewhere alone, it’s sheer heaven. Still, I don’t envy your commute. That would give me road rage as well. I’ll keep an eye out for you as I’m driving along, humming to Mulan.

Leave a Reply

