Cinema fun, kid style

For those that are parents out there, you probably know what it’s like to have to take your child to a kid movie and sit through what may be a very painful 75-100 minutes. Kid movies can at times be insanely aggravating and plain old boring to us adults and frankly, in my humble opinion, quite insulting to kids (they’re just too young to know it). I remember when Caden begged me a few years ago to take him to the Spongebob Squarepants movie. Oh horror of horrors, let me tell you. I can’t stand the half hour show let alone an entire movie! But I sucked it up and took him and to this DAY, I am still wanting that 90 minutes back.

This past weekend, Caden asked if we could go see Nim’s Island. I had no idea what it was even about as I haven’t watched TV in so long I’ve been missing all sorts of previews (can’t say I really miss TV). I looked up online who was in it – Abigail Breslin, Jodi Foster, Gerard Butler – and thought, ‘Hmm, okay, it doesn’t look awful’. So we went. And I am here to tell you if you have kids who are of age to see this movie (I’d say 5 or older), GO see IT! It was such a great little movie and I was so surprised that I ended up liking it that much.  The first 20 minutes or so are a little slow but it gets better when Jodi Foster’s character comes on to the scene (a hyperactive agoraphobic). I had no idea she could be that good at comedy but her character had me in stitches by the end. I even heard a guy in back of me with his pre-teen daughters laughing so hard and whispering to his wife, “I thought I would hate this movie!” Plus, it doesn’t hurt that Gerard Butler is looking all Indiana Jones-ish as an imaginary explorer/adventurer. Gotta love his accent.

nims_onesheet.jpg

If you need a good family film that you can just relax and not worry about humor you have to explain or a story line that leaves you climbing the walls, this is it. Check it out because we sure enjoyed it.

2 comments

  1. April · April 7, 2008

    I’m so sad…its full. We could have gotten in if I had thought about it last monday. Crap. I have been missing deadlines all over the place. I missed The San Fransisco Women’s marathon by 3 days too. AHHH. Maybe next year, huh?

  2. angelbrew · April 7, 2008

    Oh no! Are you kidding me? That’s too bad, I was all excited to do another relay race. Well, there’s always the one in Washington in the end of July. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

