A new addiction

I would just like to take this moment to share with you the pain that I’ve been experiencing over the past few months in relation to a new addiction I have. I’m hoping you will learn from my sad, sorry state. I’ve tried desperately to overcome it, to get past the constant craving, the wild-eyed look that frames my face when I find a piece, the self-loathing while my internal monologue goes something like this, “You don’t need a piece, you really don’t. Just walk away – NO, don’t turn around. Put your hand DOWN. Don’t reach for it – it’ll make you cry. You can never eat just one and you’ll get upset and start on a – STOP it. You don’t need more than two pieces! Put it down, put it down, put it down, put it in my mouth…mmmm. Dang it all to heck. Why does it have to be so good??”

Thank you, Hershey’s. You made a treat I had on occasion an almost weekly obsession. I went from just enjoying a piece of chocolate licorice every once in awhile to habitual trips down the candy aisle to see if it’s “on sale” (and who cares if it isn’t? I’ll get it anyway). The addition of “REAL Hershey’s chocolate” to the licorice mix has made these pieces of corn syrup and soy lecithin lethal. I’m talking lethal. I have never been a junk food addict; not a lot appeals to me in that area except on rare occasions – usually when I’m traveling. But this new soft, chewy, chocolatey line of goodness is killing me. Sigh…thanks, Hershey’s.

If you have not tried the “new” Twizzlers chocolate licorice with REAL Hershey’s chocolate, DON’T. You will be sorry because you will not be able to ever stop eating it. EVER. Until your hair jumps ship from your body, your ears are bigger than face, and your teeth have long since fled that cavernous hole in the front of your head. Well, actually, the teeth thing is no big deal – you could still gum it. 🙂

2 comments

  1. kbee · April 1, 2008

    Bleeh. I hate the new ones. Miss the old ones. =(

  2. angelbrew · April 1, 2008

    Well, I’d be fine if they went back to the old recipe. I wouldn’t eat as many because they wouldn’t tempt me that much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

