When I grow up

I had a nice little chat with my manager today, reminiscing about what we wanted to be when we grew up. Not so much what we wanted when we were 7 and 8 years old, but rather high school or first year college students. I’ve mentioned in a previous post how when I was 7 years old I wanted to be the youngest person to ever win an Oscar – until I found out that curly-headed little troll Shirley Temple had already beaten me to the punch. When I was 9, I was convinced I would be the first woman president of the United States (huh, yeah – kill me when that happens).

However, as I “aged” and became more knowledgeable of the world around me, I decided that there were more important endeavors for me to try and explore. So in no particular order and purely for my selfish amusement, here are a few careers I was dead set on pursuing (at one time or another):

  • Anesthesiologist – yes, I was dead set on becoming one when I was a senior in high school and even part of my first quarter up at Weber State. Here’s the thing: anesthesiologists deal with needles…on a DAILY basis. I don’t know why I thought I could overcome that small factor but apparently I did. My undergrad focus for about a year was Zoology. Do I have a problem with needles? Why don’t you go back a few posts and read this here. Good grief, I can’t even imagine what my malpractice insurance premiums would be because the situation would inevitably always end up like this: “Here’s the doctor who’s going to administer your epidural…Doctor? Doctor? She’s fainted again! Aaaahhh! The needle has pierced the patients’ spine!”
  • Photojournalist for National Geographic – Ever since I was little, I have loved the NG; I obsessed over it. Both of my grandpas had it at their homes and I would spend hours poring over the pages and drinking in each image, no matter where the location, even if it was some exposé on small state fairs in such exotic far off places such as Nebraska…or Kansas. I know that the powerful images often captured within those glossy pages started my love affair with photography.
  •  Freelance writer for Conde Nast Traveler Magazine – okay, seriously, this is my dream job. I can’t think of a better job than to traipse about the globe exploring remote jungles, experiencing hidden B&B’s, doing an adventure tour to the Galapagos Islands, hiking the Andes, or setting sail in the Mediterrean and then coming home to write an article extoling the good, the bad, and the heavenly. Plus, it combines two of my favorite loves: travel and writing. I haven’t given up on this dream job yet, especially since my current position seems to be in a state of flux…

Perhaps you would like to share what your dream job may be – you might actually be doing it! In either case, from the ridiculous to the sublime, it’s always fun to dream of what you could be. I would just like to know if there are any wannabe circus fire-eaters out there. 

3 comments

  1. infinitygoods · February 26, 2008

    I wanted to be a doctor too, but listened to people who didn’t mind their own business and had a multitude of reasons to advise against it. I settled for journalist/photojournalist in part because I wanted to travel too and in part because I love writing and photography. Journalism is not all it’s cracked up to be. Right now I’m a SAHM and it’s the most fantastic job I’ve ever had. I would never have thought I would enjoy being stuck at home with a child 24/7, but now I’m hoping to never go back to a traditional job and wish I could freeze time. I’m working on a book too.

  2. angelbrew · February 26, 2008

    Ah yes, the loving unsolicited advice of others on what you should be when you grow up. Always so much fun to deal with. I’m so glad to hear you love writing and photography too! And I wish I was a SAHM too (possibly the most overlooked dream job of many). 🙂 I want to hear about your book – how it’s going, what the premise is; sounds so good to me.

  3. infinitygoods · February 26, 2008

    People are so negative about SAHMs, especially feminists, but I’ve found it to be the best ever.

    I participated in NaNoWriMo in November (and won) so I have a 50,000+ word rough draft for a novel. I didn’t work on it over Dec./Jan., but now I’m working on finishing and editing the book. Then I’ll have to find an agent. I have my eye on one too. NaNoWriMo was the most amazing experience. When November 1st rolled around I didn’t even have a basic plot idea. I figured I would just start writing and might have to throw out the beginning, but getting started was what mattered. Pretty soon I had a fictional travel kind of book about a young woman in Europe. I don’t want to give out too much because who knows who’s lurking out there in the Internet. I’m very excited about it.

Leave a Reply

