A sweet icon melts away

Growing up, my parents exposed us offspring to the finer things in life: music, travel, good books, chocolate, ice cream…this was all very formative education, mind you. And now one of the icons of our ice cream upbringing is going away. The classic brand of Snelgrove is bidding adieu and going to the land of forgotten frozen refreshments.

SNELGROVE_Nat_1700.transfer.jpgSnelgroves is a Utah institution. I remember being little and going with my parents on several occasions to the Snelgroves shop on South Temple in downtown Salt Lake (the storefront had brightly colored ovals all over it) and ordering an upside down clown ice cream cone. That was a special treat, let me tell you. I can still see it perfectly: the vanilla clown face with whip cream hair, a licorice button nose, black frosting eyes, and a sugar cone cap with blue frosting dots up the middle. I wish I had a picture of that store so I could paint it and hang it in my house. Something about eating Snelgroves ice cream was extremely satisfying for me as a kid and I remember my dad saying on several occasions, “Snelgroves has the best chocolate ice cream around.” And they did.

I remember the old Snelgroves sandwich shop on 21st South {closed back in 2003, I believe} that I used to go to before my afternoon shift up at Primary Children’s Hospital. I’d order a half sandwich with soup and get a scoop of ice cream or one of their fantastically thick shakes and sit there and read a book for an hour or so. The Poisonwood Bible will always remind me of that place because I burst into tears one afternoon while sitting in one of the lovely red leatherette booths (it was a very tragic part of the story; thankfully, I was one of only three people there that day so I didn’t have too many people staring me with tears streaming down my cheeks).

It starts to make you feel old, when childhood icons start to disappear. Knowing I could always find a gallon of Snelgrove ice cream around was quietly comforting. Yet things change and never seem to stay the same for long – part of the cyclical nature of life and commerce, I guess. For those wishing to relish the last remnants of this sweet treat, go grab ’em up now. By the end of March you will no longer be able to find good ole Snelgroves in your grocer’s freezer.

5 comments

  1. infinitygoods · February 21, 2008

    I was Tagsurfing and that giant ice cream cone caught my eye. It instantly brought back childhood memories. I’ve never been to a Snelgrove, but your wonderful post brought me there and made me wish I could visit one in person.

    🙂 Have a great day!

  2. April · February 21, 2008

    Hey, this made me think back to that little ice cream parlor on Main Street in Bountiful, what was it called? The Cottage? I loved that place-I can still imagine the smell from that place. Yumm. So sad they’re all gone.

  3. angelbrew · February 21, 2008

    Oh my gosh, I loved The Cottage! Now it’s that antique store. They had the best sundaes there.

    And infinitygoods, thanks for your comment! I wish you could have visited a Snelgrove’s too.

  4. mark · February 23, 2008

    I am angry at Dreyer’s. I don’t believe there is no market for Snelgrove’s Ice Cream. Quite the contrary, I think Dreyer’s is a less tasty and inferior product. I rue the day they ever bought out Snelgroves.

    I think the plan from the beginning was to stop making this ice cream and take it off the market as a competitor. Unfortunately, we people in Utah who are used to eating real ice cream are the ones who will pay the price for this corporate arrogance.

  5. Roy · July 9, 2008

    My wife and I used to visit Snelgrove when we’d come to Salt Lake City from Wyoming… We’ve told hundreds of people to go there and sample the HIGH butter fat Ice Cream…YUMMY…this is another ICON gone forever; like Horlicks Malted Milk Tablets & products in Racine, Wisconsin…I hate it when that happens! Fly the flags at half mast! LOL

Leave a Reply

