2008 – a year with great films ahead

I have to say that 2007 was not an entirely bad year for movies. There were more movies I wanted to see this year than in years past and I was pretty happy I paid to see most of them. Yesterday I took Caden to see The Golden Compass and we both enjoyed it. It was a little confusing at the beginning and I know Caden was completely lost but once the Ice Bears came on the scene, it was “super cool”. The one thing that frustrated me about it was the ending – it didn’t finish the story! They have to make the next one so you see how the conflict is resolved. Oh, and as to all that mumbo jumbo on it being an anti-religion show, give me a break. If I had never heard the arguments saying the guy who wrote the books was an atheist, I would never have made any parallels between his fantastical creatures and modern day religion. It was fun, it was imaginative, and I really enjoyed it. Nicole Kidman is freakishly scary in her role, I have to say.

This year there are numerous flicks that I am dying to see. And here’s a short list in no particular order of preference:

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian – saw the trailer for this last night and Caden could barely contain his excitement
  • Speed Racer – just looks like complete eye candy!
  • Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull – um, duh?
  • The Dark Knight – Christian Bale as Batman – need I say more?
  • Bond 22 – those piercing blue eyes…
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince – they keep getting better and darker
  • Mamma Mia – Meryl Streep rules
  • Horton Hears a Who – love a good kid movie
  • Cloverfield – gotta love me some J.J. Abrams; he may even convince me to see a scary film!
  • Iron Man – he may have issues but Robert Downey, Jr. is fun to watch
  • WALL-E – another Pixar wonder
  • Get Smart – Steve Carell, ’nuff said
  • Hancock – a superhero movies with Will Smith, Jason Bateman, Charlize Theron (it better be good)
  • Leatherheads – so excited for this one! Football, George Clooney, John Krasinski – sweet!!!
  • The Spiderwick Chronicles – from Caden’s perspective, this looks “cool”
  • Jumper – teleporting- always a cool topic
  • Inkheart – another film for imaginative kids
  • Twilight – I’m hoping it will be close to the book

And this is the short list. There are quite a few more I could add but these are the movies that I am most anticipating – especially Leatherheads. Can’t wait to hit the movies!

John Krasinski, George Clooney

George Clooney, John Krasinski, Renee Zellweger

Leave a Reply

