What I Love #10: Give me that sweet, sweet sound

Music – ah, the sweet strains of melody that can bring on unsuspecting emotion faster than slip-sliding down a snowy hill on a greased up aluminum sled (a la Christmas Vacation). Music has always been a large part of my life thanks in part to family on both sides that relish the joy it can bring. I took piano lessons, flute lessons, violin lessons (piano and flute stuck) and always wanted to take voice lessons but never quite got around to it.

I sing with Caden in the car, I sing in the shower, I sing driving the 100 miles I drive everyday – at the top of my lungs sometimes. I get a kick out of fun, perky, ritalin-reduced songs that get my energy high. And I enjoy soft sonnets in song every now and then as well. This time of year I enjoy the seasonal Christmas music that permeates the radio waves on certain local stations 24/7. There are some songs that evoke memories of holidays past; and there are others that should never be played again. For fun, I am going to give you my Christmas song list – those that are Classic, those that are Funky and Fun, and those that should never again make my ears bleed a.k.a. Songs that Suck.

Let me start with Classic Christmas songs. These songs make me want to take a sleigh ride across a snowy field, cuddle up by a warm fire with cocoa, and spend time with family and friends. They are feel good-do good songs that in my opinion encompass everything that Christmas is about (and they are in no particular order).

  • The Christmas Song sung by Nat King Cole (this is actually my ultimate-favorite-nothing-could-top-it Christmas song; what a voice, great lyrics, the perfect song to come down the stairs to on Christmas morning)
  • White Christmas sung by Bing Crosby: yes this is the most popular song in the world, been recorded in over a million languages (or something like that), but it’s a classic
  • Christmas Eve by Perry Como: yes, the great man who loved V-neck sweaters was quite the crooner and this song is forever etched into my Christmas memories
  • Do You Hear What I Hear? sung by the Jay Welch Chorale: memories of playing this record over and over
  • Sleigh Ride – by just about anybody

I just realized I should add in a separate list from Classic Christmas songs to actual Christmas carols, those songs that have been around forever. I sang some of these in choir in high school or my sisters did in Madrigals. Beautiful arrangements that are better appreciated in a large assembly hall.

  • In Dulci Jubilo by John Rutter
  • Gaudete by somebody
  • Riu, Riu Chiu – a Spanish carol that I just saw performed by The Kings Singers at the Mormon Tabernacle Choir’s Christmas Concert. WOW.
  • Still, Still, Still again by somebody

Onto the Fun and Funky or just Really Cool songs that are unusual and make me smile. If you have a party with friends or neighbors who like to shake things up a bit, try these out for a party full of cheer (or you can just spike your punch and that works too…or so I’ve heard).

And now the infamous Christmas Songs that Suck, otherwise known as Sad Attempts at Distributing Holiday Cheer thus Resulting in Depression for All (it’s a technical title).

  • Christmas Shoes – I can’t think of a holiday song I hate more. Let’s make people feel awful and depressed at Christmastime by guilting them through a shamefully written song meant to manipulate with a melody that would make Mickey Mouse suicidal. Sweet.
  • Dear Mr. Jesus – what in the hell is this song?!? Whoever wrote this song needs to be shot, then smacked around a bit, and shot again. Having some young child sing to “Mr. Jesus” about a girl she saw on the news “beaten black and blue” is beyond – well, it’s just BEYOND. Happy Holidays.
  • Simply Having a Wonderful Christmas Time by Paul McCartney – um, Paul? Think you can write a song with more than 4 lines of lyrics and more than 4 notes?
  • December Twenty 5 by The Flashcats – as if we couldn’t say goodbye to Lou Bega’s staggeringly bad Mambo #5 fast enough; these guys have gone and rewritten with a “Christmas theme”. Yikes!

If you have others you’d like to add, let me know. I want to hear what songs people love or hate or that make them smile. As for me, I’m off to listen to my son’s favorite Christmas song Mele Kalikimaka.

5 comments

  1. Natalie · December 23, 2007

    I totally agree with your “classic” christmas song choices–the top 3 especially. For me, I also get all Christmasy when I hear any of these:
    -Manheim Steamroller
    -almost any Carpenter’s Christmas song
    -John Rutter compositions like Candlelight Carol & What Sweeter Music
    -and “He’s too Fat for the Chimney” a la “Christmas with Giselle”
    (probably only Brewster kids will get that one)
    Yup, Christmas is my happy time!

  2. angelbrew · December 23, 2007

    Oh my gosh, I can’t believe I forgot Giselle’s “He’s Too Fat For the Chimney”! Classic Brewster kid song that should definitely go under my Fun and Funky list. Thanks for reminding me, Nats!

  3. Stephen · November 21, 2008

    I agree. Also agree with anything Carpenters.

    As for that atrocious, evil, someone please shoot me “Christmas Shoes”, well… it should be banned. Then every copy of it should be shot. And burned. LOL.

  4. Fish Oil : · October 31, 2010

    Christian Music is just very soothing to the ear and i feel uplifted when i hear about it .

  5. Glass Shelving · · November 4, 2010

    i take my kids for piano lessons because i want them to learn about playing the piano `

Leave a Reply

