What I Love #2 – Taylor Family Christmas Party

Every year on the first Sunday in December the Taylors gather together for the family Christmas party. Food is abundant, talents are shared, and the white elephant gift swapping is hilarious. I look forward to it every year as usually it’s when I see cousins I don’t see on a regular basis as well as aunts and uncles that crack me up with their sense of humor.

This year (like a couple of other years past) Kent and Bill hosted it at their fabulous home high up in the foothills of Salt Lake. It’s gorgeous, it’s huge – the perfect gathering place. Plus, having Kent as the emcee for the gift swapping is fantastic. I can see why my mom loves her cousins (such as Kent and Barbara Kay) because I’m sure there was never a dull moment growing up. It gives me a bit of insight into what their childhood was like and what type of conversations they must have had when watching their interactions today. Some of the best moments of the night came from these guys when they opened their white elephants. Barbara Kay ended up with a VHS tape on A Canadian Train Ride (Kent: “Didn’t you work on the production design set for that one?”) and when Lynne kicked things off by opening what truly was the winning white elephant: canned cheese powder from somebody’s food storage that looked like it came from the 50’s. Classic.

To those family members who couldn’t make it, you totally missed out! And you should plan on coming next year (if you’re close and you don’t have to travel, from say, Alaska). So for those far away and not in attendance, enjoy a few of the pics below.

taylor-christmas-party07-001.jpg

taylor-christmas-party07-003.jpg

taylor-christmas-party07-011.jpg

taylor-christmas-party07-007.jpg

3 comments

  1. Leslie Taylor Pessetto · December 3, 2007

    Dear Angie,
    You are amazing and I love your website. It is the closest thing I have ever had to being part of life at “home”. Thank you!

    I think I have reached the point in life that I am really tired of living far away. I want to be by my sisters and children. 😛
    Thank you fo the pictures of our beautiful family, I sat here and cried.
    Love you!
    Leslie

  2. Lana · December 4, 2007

    You have a beautiful family! Thank you for sharing your gathering.

    Family really is the best part of the holidays. My favorite part of Christmas is sitting down and watching the Christmas Classics with my dearest loved-ones.

    This season I can just pop the magic into the DVD player. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, Frosty the Snowman and four more holiday classics are all available in one beautiful keepsake package: The Christmas Classics DVD Box-Set. It even comes with a bonus music CD! You can buy this wherever DVDs are sold, but it’s also available at http://www.christmasclassics.tv. I only know about it because I work with the company, but it’s something my family and I will treasure for many holiday seasons to come. I invite you to be part of the magic this holiday season, and share it with your family as well.

    Happy holidays!

  3. Gemma · December 11, 2007

    That is truly lovely.
    You must be very proud of your family.
    Thanks for such an insight into how big families work and show love for each other.

Leave a Reply

