Giving thanks

 

Today is what is popularly known in the grocery world as Black Wednesday – the day when everyone is out shopping for the fabulous turkey feast the next day. You’ll see parking lots full to the brim and shopping carts overflowing with frozen turkeys, cranberries, potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans, rolls, sugar, whipping cream, pumpkin pies, and whatever else you may be adding to your dinner repertoire.

In our family, we split up the duties for Thanksgiving. No need to overburden my mom with an entire meal (especially since the kitchen is being torn apart for remodeling and she only has one working oven now) so we all pitch in to bring goodies to share. For my part, I am in charge of the pumpkin pies and the green salad. Last year I made the green salad as well and it was this fantastic creation! Red pears, gorgonzola, pomegranate, and so much more (it was actually an expensive salad, too) and hardly anybody ate it. This year I am skimming it down to appeal to the masses, I guess. I just hate to see good food go to waste.

As a pre-cursor to tomorrow when we gather around the table and discuss what we’re thankful for, I’m going to share a few items for which I find myself giving thanks for:

  • Pears – nothing beats a perfectly ripe pear to satisfy my hunger after a morning run
  • Those cool running socks I got up in Foothill Village
  • Clorox Disinfecting Wipes
  • Caden’s two-front-teeth-missing-smile that lights up his face
  • Parents deciding to join me on a quick jaunt to Disneyland
  • Sales – at my favorite stores, of course
  • My fingernails – I’ve always liked ’em
  • Healing from my MCL tear
  • Sisters and sister-in-law who like to shop as much as I do
  • The changing of seasons (although I’m enjoying the unseasonably warm fall, I’m ready to ski)
  • Eyes that can enjoy a breathtaking dawn (even if they are aided by contacts)
  • Caden’s giggle when he tells a joke he just made up (and that makes no sense whatsoever)
  • A brother (and brothers-in-law) that are such good examples – Caden idolizes them
  • The ability to release a foul mood by running

To sum it up, here is an Estonian proverb that you can share around your Thanksgiving feast:

“Who does not thank for little will not thank for much.”

Leave a Reply

