Breakfast was free (almost)…but no more

My job has several little perks that I enjoy, some monetary and some more personal. Today we said goodbye to what has been an institution in our building for quite some time. Every other Monday, myself and my co-workers joyfully looked forward to the beginning of a new work week. Strange, right? Who looks forward to Monday mornings? What a sick, twisted place I must be embroiled in…but it’s quite the contrary. Every other Monday all employees would be treated to Breakfast for a Buck.

Yep, you heard me, a plate full of food for one measly dollar. I’m not talking cheap little items that you buy at other big name places i.e. McD’s or Burger King – hashbrowns, french toast sticks, or other items that are $1 a piece. We’re talking omelettes, pancakes, bacon, sausage, french toast, waffles, or sometimes we had food from around the world like fried bananas , crepes, or some green chili thing from Costa Rica (not a personal favorite). Actually, my favorite breakfast was the morning we had waffles, ice cream, and fresh fruit (sooooo good!). We were the envy of other sites outside of Utah, but alas, all good things must come to an end.

We’ve transferred quite a few people from my site and as such we’ve shrunk a bit in size. And when your company subsidizes the food they need the ROI of employees buying what’s being served. Not happening so much, I gotta say. So today was our final Breakast for a Buck only it was free for all employees. Everyone walked away with a couple of plates because you had your plate size waffle in one hand and your made-to-order omelette with bacon and sausage or whatever else you desired in the other. And drinks were on the house.

Sigh…I will miss the almost free food every other Monday. I guess my co-workers and I will have to go down to IKEA (not too far from us) for their 99 cent breakfast. But I bet it won’t be made to order.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Excessive much? « The Eyes have it
  2. chonghwi · June 11, 2009

    wow.. the food looks nice ya..

Leave a Reply

