Kiss and tell

pucker.jpg

I’ve had this thought itching my brain for the past several weeks, more so in the past week, and I just have to get it out there – how much do you weigh your first kiss on being a significant indicator of the success of a relationship? I really honestly want to know what people think about this.

Do you expect the ground to move when your lips touch? Maybe perhaps you’d like to feel dizzy, faint, or suffer heart palpitations? I don’t know…I used to think this was mainly a “girly” notion, the passionate embrace of nascent love acting as if it were a crystal ball. I think we put too much pressure on ourselves at time. And I also think this creates an unwarranted height of expectation.

I am the first to admit that I am something of a romantic idealist. I know that for some people “love at first sight” (which honestly, people, means that you were HIGHLY attracted to each other) may be the best description of how their relationship worked out. Sometimes you can just click with someone from the get-go and the cogs of your relationship wheel intersect nicely. For others, it’s a bit more hit and miss. One person will develop feelings faster than the other and the seesaw that can be relationship hell ensues.

But back to kissing. I am highly in favor it. I’m just curious how many people knew they had met their “soul mate” based on a first kiss. I know a few individuals (and you know who you are) who have had somewhat less than stellar first kisses…and then they ended up marrying these jokers – er, I mean, delightful human beings. I’m assuming you all got better at it as the relationship went along (but please, no details are needed – I value my intact digestive system as it currently feels today).

So come on, smoochers – it’s time to kiss and tell.

Leave a Reply

