Speed is what I want

racecar.jpg

I had a discussion with a friend the other day on things we most desire in our lives that we really can’t have or that just don’t match our current lifestyle choices. It was kind of like those conversations you had when you were little – “What do you want to be when you grow up?” Wasn’t it always so fun to be able to say whatever you wanted because it seemed so possible? When you’re little nothing stands in the way of your imagination, of your possibilities; everything is limitless and if you wanted to be a princess and superhero ninja all at the same time, why not?

Of course, “wisdom” sets in as we age – we couldn’t possibly do all of those things because the laws of reality demand something else, I guess. However, it seems that we still try to make those childish whims/aspirations come true. Anybody can be an astronaut…as long as you are a millionaire. Want to be a cowboy? Spend a summer herding cattle across the West…at $20-30K a pop. I’m pulling numbers out of the air, it’s true, but it still seems like you can fulfill most childhood fantasies or satisfy ageless desires if you have the means to do so. Those of us that don’t will just have to be a little more creative.

When I was 7, I wanted to be the youngest person to win an Oscar (part of that really competitive streak I have in me). For a year I would pray about it nearly every night…and then I found out Shirley Temple received one at the age of 6. Crap. Dang curly-headed cherub. From then on I would despise the song On the Good Ship Lollipop.

After my brief “pursuit” of acting, I set my sights on being the first woman President of the United States. From the time I was 9 until I was 13, I was dead set on making that a goal. Until I really started to look at politics. Not to say that I understood a whole lot at 13 about our democratic system, but I suddenly realized that the political arena was not really for me. And especially now, you couldn’t pay me a million dollars to be the Leader of the Free World.

Now, it’s very simple: I have the need for speed. I just want to – once in my life – get on a racetrack and take a car upwards of 150 mph and feel the torque, the pull, the hair-raising fun that would greet me on every turn. This may be something I can accomplish – there is a new racetrack in town. I think part of this desire stems from the fact that I drive usually 100 miles a day to and from work and I would love to just fly past the cars doing 120. Hmmm…I’m sure that I must be scaring some people with all this speed talk.

It’s quite possible that the reason I began entertaining tihs idea is due to the fact I saw a BEAUTIFUL new Lotus Elise at Smiths parking lot. I parked next to it and just envisioned myself cushioned in the custom leather bucket seats and shifting madly around hairpin corners. Sigh…it was lovely. I’ll do my best not to covet it. 😉

lotus.jpg

Leave a Reply

