Pleasure, thy name is Jane Austen

I just watched Pride and Prejudice for probably the tenth time since it first came out over a year and half ago and it never fails to move me. Whenever I feel the need to be refreshed mentally, I find I often drift to Jane Austen works. How typically female, some might say. But the truth is there few authors who can evoke such emotion through witty repartee.

Her ability for social commentary is on point and even though it is set in 18th century England, many of the social excesses she enjoyed to write about exist today – we just don’t wear corsets nowadays. They’re called Spanx.

In any case, the movie is stunning and I’m planning to visit Derbyshire next year (if all things work out). Not to mention the musical score takes my breath away.

prideprejudice.jpg

Leave a Reply

